New York’s McNally Jackson Books

You guys, the past seven days have been rough. Mostly due to the fact that I missed Jay-Z and Bey at Coachella last week. And I am so mad at myself! I was being an old lady on that fateful Saturday night and justified dismissing Nas’ performance because ‘he hasn’t come out with anything in forever’. Obvi that should have been my first clue that something awesome was going to happen. Ugh, serious bummer-central. Oh, and I have some serious wheezing/coughing going on from that nasty dust storm on Saturday. Hot beverages and soup have been my go to all week, even though it’s been in the 80s all week in Napa Valley. But I digress.

Right now, all of the warm food and beverages I’ve been consuming are making me miss my New York travels a lot. I miss the matzo ball soup from Katz’s. I miss seeing the Statue of Liberty in the distance and the awesome tour of that lovely Lady Liberty. I miss the hustle and bustle on every single street we walked down (Napa is pretty boring in that regard..). Although, one thing I was seriously don’t miss was the sleet, snow, and ice rain during my pre-Polar Votex stay. Honestly, you New Yorkers are tough. One way I coped with the severe frigidness I experienced over the majority of my few days in the Big Apple was to drink lots of wine sneak over to my new absolute favorite cafe.

20140331-170737.jpg

This cafe-slash-bookstore, McNally Jackson in NoLita, is located at 52 Prince Street (between Lafayette & Mulberry). It has the coolest decor. I mean, look at that light fixture!

20140331-170748.jpg

And the hot chocolate. OMG, the hot chocolate. It’s made with melted chocolate, not powder or syrup. Same for the mochas.

20140331-170756.jpg

Look at that arm rest! It’s a book. And it opens up so you have have more space for eating. I love eating. Their pastries were delish and their entrees looked quite tasty.

20140331-170804.jpgFor all of you writers who aspire to be published, they do that too. I am seriously so impressed.

I came back here twice and still miss it on the regular. Here’s to hoping they love wine and want to open a Napa Valley store.. but really, please! If you’re in NYC and need a caffeine fix, tasty pastry, or need something fabulous to read, do yourself a favor and head over to McNally Jackson Books. You won’t regret it!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Tourist’s Guide to Christmastime in New York City | In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: Exploring New York in Three Days | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a comment