RSS Feed

Statue of Liberty Tour

I’ve been putting off writing about my trip for so long! It’s not that I don’t want to, but rather, I haven’t had a lot of time to sit down and go through all of my photos, ticket stubs, and journal entries (yes, I journaled!). Heck, Chef hasn’t  even seen any of my photos that weren’t up on Insta either (P.S. totes add me on Insta if you haven’t already!). So, in an attempt to appease those of you whom have mentioned you wanted a post, I will entertain your wishes with this photo essay of my trip to the Statue of Liberty!

I have been to the Statue of Liberty before, that same middle school trip discussed here. So, forever ago. I was excited to take my parents on this tour, but dealing with the pre-Polar Vortex weather was something we hadn’t anticipated (read: freaking freezing!).  I’m sure many of you have taken the tour, but I learned a lot (again) about the iconic statue. For those who have no idea about the history or neat facts about the Statue of Liberty, read up here.

2013-12-16 11.30.03

2013-12-16 11.33.19

2013-12-16 11.34.28

2013-12-16 11.40.54

2013-12-16 11.49.36

Don’t let the sun shining on our faces fool you– it was ridiculously cold. #PolarVortex

2013-12-16 11.46.23

The tour’s cost included the round-trip ferry ride to Liberty Island and an audio tour. We didn’t complete the audio tour (it was really long and parts of it anecdotal– we’re more of a FAQ/quick-sheet family), but it was nice hearing some of the interviews and the history of the statue. I do think it would have been cool to go inside the crown, but tickets had sold out by the time we got to the box office.

This was a must do–at least once— for me while we were in New York, not only for the historical/touristy points, but because of that view!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. I’ve never been to the Statue of Liberty. I’ve been to NYC a bunch of times (since I lived in central NY for 2 years), but never to the island! Floated past it on a boat, but not to it! I must soon!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: New York’s McNally Jackson Books | In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Taking in the 9/11 Memorial | In Natalie's Shoes

  4. Pingback: A Tourist’s Guide to Christmastime in New York City | In Natalie's Shoes

  5. Pingback: Exploring New York in Three Days | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

