RSS Feed

Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hello there friends! Apologies for being MIA. But do I have some fun news to make it up to you!

A few weeks back, some lovely ladies and I got to scheming about a cookie swap. Allie from Sweet Potato Bites, Karla from Foodologie, Jazzy from JazzyJonez, and Coco from Urban Chick’s Foodie Ventures and I decided that we would all make cookies, send a half-dozen to each of the participating ladies, and then share our recipes on our blogs. Allie, Karla, Coco and I are all residing in California, while Ms. Jazzy lives in Washington D.C. so we wanted to get creative in the naming process. And thus, Coast to Coast Cookie Swap was born!

I was determined to finally post about my absolute favorite cookies I’ve made. Seriously, this will be the only recipe you’ll ever need to either make yourself happy or impress a guy/girl/family member/potential family member/boss.

20131120-104611.jpg

These cookies are amazing by themselves. Or sandwiched around a glob of vanilla bean ice cream. Or dunked in milk. Or.. Well, you can get creative.

I originally found this recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction after googling something about how to make better cookies. I don’t know about you guys, but I hate how inconsistent cookies are when I bake them. I know, I know, it’s probably user error. But I still get mad.

20131120-104216.jpg

But no longer. When I follow Ms. Sally’s recipe, my cookies consistently turn out better. For real.

20131120-104223.jpg

And I’ll let you in on a little secret…

20131120-104233.jpg

It’s because of the melted butter (!) and then chilling the dough.

20131120-104242.jpg

Not just “Oh, I’ll chill the dough for a second” before baking them. No, you chill the dough for at least 2 whole hours. At least.

20131120-104306.jpg

I know, it seems a bit excessive. But sweet baby Jesus! This process makes them amazing.

20131120-104450.jpg

Also, there’s cornstarch. Again, sounds weird, but just trust me on this.

20131120-104504.jpg

So, anyway, I decided I needed something to finally force me to share this recipe with you all. And luckily, #C2CCS was just what the doctor ordered.

20131120-104524.jpg

I can’t even tell you how delicious the cookies I received were. Honestly, I suggest going over to each of the ladies’ sites and taking a peek at their recipes and photos. And then making them for yourself (and obviously sending me more, too). 20131120-104550.jpg

But here’s the recipe for what I made my lovely #C2CCS ladies:

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups  all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar, loosely packed
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 bag chocolate chips or chocolate chunks

Directions:

  1. Combine flour, baking soda, cornstarch and salt in a large bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk the melted butter, and sugars together until no brown sugar lumps remain. Whisk in the egg, then the egg yolk. Finally, add in the vanilla.
  3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix together. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  4. Cover the dough and chill for 2 hours, or up to 3 days. Chilling is mandatory!
  5. Take the dough out of the refrigerator and allow to slightly soften at room temperature for 10 minutes.
  6. Preheat the oven to 325 F. Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats. Set aside.
  7. Roll the dough into balls, about 2 tablespoons of dough each. Roll the cookie dough balls to be taller rather than wide, to ensure the cookies will bake up to be thick. See the photo above.
  8. Bake the cookies for 11-12 minutes. The cookies will look very soft and under-baked. Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 10 minutes before moving to a wire rack to cool completely.

Note: Cookies stay soft and fresh for 7 whole days at room temperature. Cookies may be frozen up to 3 months. Rolled cookie dough may be frozen up to three months and baked in their frozen state for 12 minutes.

Yields approximately 24-30 cookies, depending on size. 

20131120-104541.jpg

Oh, and I didn’t tell you this, but, the cookie dough is fabulous. Seriously. I made 2 dozen for the #C2CCS ladies and have a 1 1/2 cups or so left in a Tupperware in my fridge. I may or may not be eating some each night. I’ll never tell.

20131120-104603.jpg

Here’s a link to all of the cookies I received:

Be sure to check out all of their site and follow them on Twitter. I’m always finding fab recipes or ideas for meals from these ladies. Also, we’re considering making this a semi-regular thing– annually, bi-annually.. We don’t know. But it was fun, that’s for sure! Here’s a peek at what I received from Jazzy, Coco, Karla, and Allie:

20140405-211208.jpg

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

10 responses »

  1. Love this post! And the swap was so fun – can’t wait for the next one!

    Reply
  2. Loooove! This really was a great idea. I loved seeing what every came up with, and getting packages was super fun! Can’t wait for the next one.

    Reply
  3. I absolutely love, love, LOVE your post! 🙂 You inspire me to take more cool, step by step pics! And your cookies were delicious…I’m not a huge fan of chocolate, but I’m a fan of your Best Ever Choc Chip Cookies! Can’t wait until the next swap!

    Reply
  4. One of my favorite desserts. Making this for a get together this friday, thanks 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: White Chip Cranberry Cookies | In Natalie's Shoes

  6. Pingback: 2014 Highlights | In Natalie's Shoes

  7. Pingback: Spicy Chili-Lime Chicken Tacos | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

