Cheesy Chipotle Jalapeño Popper Dip

Did you all enjoy the weekend? Mine was packed with work, volunteering, family, and kitchen time, but was heaps of fun. Plus, I had a special task I was able to successfully (and deliciously) complete!

Cheesy Chipotle Jalapeño Popper Dip | @innatsshoes

Enter a caption

Last week, I received a surprise package from the cheese gods at Sartori, thanks to #Foodiechats. My mission was to create a dish using one or more of the cheese Sartori sent me that would be perfect for game day. 

Cheesy Chipotle Jalapeño Popper Dip | @innatsshoes

Sartori sent me three of their cheese to use:

  • Montamore, a creamy and fruity cheese with a hint of tang at the finish
  • Shaved Tuscan Reserve Blend, a mix of Parmesan and Fontina cheese
  • and their newest Reserve Cheese, Chipotle BellaVitano, which offers smoky, spicy, garlic and onion rub, flavors in a sweet and creamy cheese.

After trying the three cheeses, I was quickly drawn to the Chipotle BellaVitano’s unique, smokey flavor (with just a hint of spice!). It reminded me of some jalapeño poppers I’d had a while back and decided to make my own version. Note: I can’t wait to create something fun with the other cheeses. And this Packers hat was a sweet touch, Sartori! 

Cheesy Chipotle Jalapeño Popper Dip | @innatsshoes

After searching for a reasonable jalapeño popper recipe, I decided I didn’t want to have to stuff each. individual. jalapeño. by. hand. So I opted for a dip version. Enter Corey’s delicious and easy sounding recipe for a jalapeño popper dip! As usual, I changed up the recipe a bit, including switching up the cheeses, adding chipotle in adobo, subbing in panko crumbs and topping with bacon. I can’t help myself.

However, I had a few people attending our Sunday Night Football barbecue who can’t eat overly spicy foods, so I omitted the chipotle in adobo and reduced the jalapeños to 2 (from my intended 3) for this event. I also ran out of time to cook my bacon for crumbling, so I had to leave that off this time. That mistake won’t happen again.Cheesy Chipotle Jalapeño Popper Dip | @innatsshoes

Cheesy Chipotle Jalapeño Popper Dip – adapted from Fresh Family Meals

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 8oz cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup shredded Chipotle BellaVitano
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar (I prefer sharp but mild will work)
  • 2 jalapeños, seeded and diced
  • 1 Tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • Optional: 1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, seeded and diced
  • Optional: 3 sliced of bacon, cooked and crumbled

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 F.
  2. In a medium sized bowl, mix sour cream and softened cream cheese together until smooth. Stir in jalapeños, Chipotle BellaVitano and cheddar cheese. If using chipotle pepper in adobo, stir in.
  3. Spread mixture in an oven safe casserole dish or cast iron skillet.
  4. In a small bowl, mix butter and panko breadcrumbs. Spread over cheese mixture. If using bacon, sprinkle over the top.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes, or until top is golden and cheese is bubbling.
  6. Serve with pita chips, Trader Joe’s Social Snackers, or any other vessel of your choosing.

Cheesy Chipotle Jalapeño Popper Dip | @innatsshoes

My friends and family could not get over how amazing this dip was! The subtle smokey flavor from the Chipotle BellaVitano paired so well with the spice from the jalapeños, and the panko crumb topping gave the dip a slightly crunchy texture. Plus, it’s great for snacking while watching the game! I’d highly recommend doubling this recipe, as ours went quickly!

I received all cheeses complimentary from Sartori for testing purposes, through a partnership with #Foodiechats. As always, my opinions on all of the freaking delicious cheeses above are my own.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment