RSS Feed

Bite-Sized Polenta Pizza

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe, hasn’t it? Well wait no more! I know I’ve said it once, I’ll say it again, I love pizza. It could have to do with my not-so slight obsession with cheese. Or the fact that I can eat a whole can of black olives in one sitting. By myself. The problem with pizza is that I either have to order one over the phone/at a restaurant, or I have to buy pizza dough and whatever toppings I’m feeling like that day. I mean, who wants to leave their house just to have the deliciousness that is pizza? (Hint: not me!) Well the lovely Ms. Kimberly at Poor Girl Eats Well, one of my favorite food blogs, has changed the way I get my pizza fix!

20120912-162441.jpg

Kimberly’s original recipe can be found here. She actually makes her own sauce (and I’m always lazy trying to use what’s in my cupboard) but I just used store bought sauce. This recipe is super easy and can be tailored to meet your dietary preferences or needs (read: vegetarian, meat lover, etc.). It’s also extremely kid-friendly! Here’s how I made my delicious pizza fix:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 18 oz. tube prepared polenta (I bought mine at Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 can black olives, sliced (I usually eat about half of this before the pizzas are done..)
  • 1/4 cup each chopped green and red bell peppers
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 c shredded low-fat mozzarella cheese (or more, if you’re like me and love cheese)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

20120912-162203.jpg

Directions

  1. Pre-heat your oven (or toaster oven, like I did) to 375 F.
  2. Cut the polenta into 1/2″ thick slices.
  3. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and add the olive oil. When oil is heated through, arrange the polenta slices in the skillet and pan-fry for about 3 minutes on each side, or until slightly golden brown and crispy to the touch.
  4. Remove the polenta from the skillet and place on a paper towel-lined plate to drain the excess oil.
  5. Add between a teaspoon and a tablespoon of sauce to each polenta slice, top with a teaspoon or so of shredded cheese (or pile it high, I won’t judge), then add the olives (or whatever toppings you would prefer).
  6. Place your adorable little pizzas on a cookie sheet (or the toaster oven tray, lined with tin foil) and bake for about 2 minutes, or until the cheese has melted.
  7. Enjoy!

Makes 20 mini pizzas.

20120912-162225.jpg

Sliced polenta, yum!

20120912-162245.jpg

Getting crispy and lightly browned.

20120912-162305.jpg

I prefer a pizza with heaps of cheese and black olives, but I was catering to friends who like a more adventurous pizza.

20120912-162322.jpg

All toasted!

20120912-162343.jpg

Sauced, cheesed, and olived, ready for the toaster oven!

20120912-162355.jpg

In they go!

While Kimberly recommends serving them with a salad, I personally like to eat them as is. But I also eat about 10 mini pizzas as a serving… Hmm, maybe you should serve them with a salad to be on the healthy side. I also usually add more cheese once they come out of the oven.

These baby pizzas are so yummy and obviously easy to make. I typically have all of the ingredients on hand (after I use a tube of polenta, I add it to my shopping list so that I’m never out), so it is great for those nights where I don’t have a clue as to what I’m making for dinner. I think it would be cute to have these as appetizers at a party or make a pizza party where kids can construct their own pizzas (on pre-sliced polenta to avoid sharp objects in tiny hands!).

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. Hi Natalie, saw the link to this recipe on the BBN site! These look delish will have to give them a try!

    Reply
    • Hi Carly, thanks! It’s one of my go-to recipes from Poor Girl Eats Well! (You should check out Kimberly’s blog at http://www.poorgirleatswell.com) They’re really yummy and easy to make. The nice thing about them is that you can make whatever kind of pizza you want (cheese only, veggie, meat lovers, etc.). I hope you enjoy trying the recipe out! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  2. looks yummy…can’t wait to try!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Guest Post: Heather’s October Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

