S’more Brownies

Hmm.. Campfire favorite. Any guess what this post will be about?

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe, so I figure this one will rock your socks off because not only is it so easy but it a new twist on a classic American favorite: s’mores! The lovely thing about this recipe? No campfire necessary!

I cannot take any credit for the simplicity or deliciousity (don’t act like you didn’t know exactly what I meant!) of this recipe. I found the recipe by way of Nicole at Prevention RD and Nicole gives credit to Melissa of Delicious Melissious who found the recipe on Betty Crocker. Whew! I must say, I adore baking/cooking/eating/food blogs and their community for being so creative and always giving credit where credit is due!

I originally made this for a pre-Memorial Day BBQ and pool day. I kept the recipe pretty much the same, except I used a larger (13×9) pan and added a 1/2 cup marshmallows and 1 graham cracker to what was listed. My version is below.

Ingredients

  • 1 box brownie mix (I used Duncan Hines Chewy Fudge Premium Brownie Mix)
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 1/2 cups miniature marshmallows
  • 5 graham crackers, cut into chunks*
  • 2 Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars, broken into each segments*
*or you can do this in Step 3, while the brownies are baking

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F. Spray 13×9-inch baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. Prepare the brownie mix according to the directions on the box (or use your favorite homemade recipe) using the oil, egg, and water.
  3. While the brownies were baking, chop up the graham crackers, measure out the marshmallows, and break apart the Hershey’s bars.
  4. After baking, remove the pan from the oven and set the oven to broil at 500-550 F. No need to raise the rack, as you don’t want the marshmallows to catch fire!
  5. Cool brownies for about a minute then sprinkle the marshmallows over the warm brownies. Make sure to cover most of the area. Sprinkle the graham crackers on top of the marshmallows.
  6. Broil about 4-5 inches from the heat for 30 seconds to a minute until the marshmallows are golden brown. Watch carefully so that they don’t burn.
  7. Once out of the oven, sprinkle with Hershey’s milk chocolate bars (or be a tad OCD like me and make sure that each segment is Hershey’s side up..).
Makes 24 s’more brownies.
20120606-165050.jpg

Just makin’ some regular ol’ brownie batter..

20120606-165058.jpg

Using a larger pan results in thinner brownies, but we’ll soon remedy that problem, won’t we?

20120606-165109.jpg

I broke my graham crackers in half lengthwise, and then chopped away!

20120606-165126.jpg

My Hershey’s chocolate bar was a little beat up when I opened it, so some of my segments aren’t full rectangles. Oh well!

20120606-165142.jpg

Back into the oven she goes!

20120606-165159.jpg

Oh. Man. Look at how toasty and golden the broiler made these ‘mallows!

20120606-165220.jpg

After adding the chocolate segments. Delicious looking, no?

My friends at the BBQ couldn’t get enough of these s’more brownies, and Clinton even told me to “make these every chance you get!” And I’d have to agree with my friends, this was so delicious (and easy!) that I made it again for my Uncle David’s 50th birthday surprise two days later! I would recommend that you let the finished product sit for a while (preferably overnight) before cutting them, as the marshmallows are still really gooey from being all warmed up!

Stay tuned for a post on the other dessert I made for Uncle David’s surprise birthday at the Giants game!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: No Bake Birthday Cake « In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: Southern Treats, Made Easy « In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Southern Treats, Made Easy | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a comment