RSS Feed

PDX Eats: Veritable Quandary

As I mentioned in another post, I love, love, love Portland, OR. Recently, I was visiting Emily, a girl who has been like my sister for all intents and purposes since I was four and she was two. Emily was graduating from Lewis & Clark College, and I flew up to Portland to surprise her. This post is a continuation of my food journey on that trip, and I’d left off at going to dinner at one of my favorite restaurants in Portland, Veritable Quandary.

I’d been to VQ once before, my first time to Portland, actually. Matt and I went for bloody Mary’s and brunch and we were not disappointed. (DEFINITELY try a bloody Mary!) On my most recent trip to one of my favorite restaurants in one of my favorite cities, I, again, was not disappointed. VQ is a little fancier than other restaurants in Portland, but it’s not snobby or uptight. The indoor seating areas are as lovely and relaxing as the outdoor patio seating. Gorgeous ivy covers the brickwork outside, while beautiful paintings and sconces decorate the indoor walls. But enough of the ambiance, let’s get to the good stuff.. the food!

Judy and I decided to share the salad and each get our own entrees. The salad, a warm chevre crostini atop local apple, pear and roasted hazelnuts on spring greens, with a honey pepper vinaigrette, was phenomenal. The perfect amount of food to share, without getting too full before the main course. For my entree, I ordered the Pork Tenderloin Grilled with Herbs, which came with white bean and roasted garlic puree, lemon frites and olives, fresh arugula, and shaved Parmigino reggiano. Below are some pics:

20120520-143152.jpg

First Course

20120520-143202.jpg

Second Course

Everything was so delicious! I’d never had lemon frites before and I was pleasantly surprised by the texture and flavor, almost like a sour cream and onion chip! The white bean and roasted garlic puree was a perfect substitute for the mashed potatoes I would have normally ordered with a pork dish. I am not even embarrassed to say that I cleaned off my entire plate! I am looking forward to my next VQ visit, and highly recommend you try it if you venture into the Southwest neighborhood of Portland!

Leave a Reply

