Getting Ready for Portland (2014 Edition)

Man, oh, man. With the NapaQuake turning the Wine Country upside down for a short while (click here to read my story), I’ve been itching to get out of California.  My trip this past weekend to Chico was heaps of fun and filled with food, friends, and beer! But I have somewhere a little farther away I’d like to get to.. PORTLAND! We all know Portland is one of my favorite cities and I’m excited to say that this weekend, I’ll be jetting up to that fabulous city for a quick weekend getaway.

My darling friend Kortni and I have been scheming together to see one another, but our schedules are jampacked. Sometimes being an adult sucks. But we finally discovered not one, but TWO weekends where we’ll get to see each other. A few weeks after my visit up to Portland, she’ll make her way down to Napa. That should definitely keep my wanderlust at bay until my Mexico trip in November, but more on that later.

20130807-172926.jpg

This picture captures us perfectly.

I’m starting to notice a trend in my travel, where at least once a year I head up to Portland. I’m absolutely okay with this! I love exploring this amazing city with one of my dearest friends. While I’m sure much of my adventures in Portland will be typical for me (booze, brunch, and beer), we are doing a few brand new things! Kortni has planned some seriously awesome activities for us during my stay:

  1. Cocktails upon my arrival. Love.
  2. Brunch with some of these college friends who moved up to Portland. Reunion!!
  3. Going to what Kortni calls “a fabulous grown-up Disneyland” aka Edgefield, where we’ll watch the Avett Brothers perform. Dying.
  4. More brunch. Obligatory.
  5. Possible music video cameo for one of Kortni’s favorite bands. How very Los Angeles of us.
  6. More cocktails. Obvi.

As an added bonus, it’s supposed to be in the mid-80s in Portland this weekend (with Saturday allegedly reaching above 90 F!). Summer in Portland is heaven. So I’ll need to pack accordingly:

 

Portland 2014

 

Portland 2014 by innatsshoes featuring a red nail polish

You can’t go wrong with a sundress and layers–unless the weather gets all Portland on me and goes from sunny and delightful to cloudy and muggy. I cannot wait to report back about this Edgefield place.. Be sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram for a sneak peek of my travels. Stay tuned for a post about it all later!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. So jealous you are going to Portland! I love that city and all it’s delicious food 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Weekend Recap: Portland 2014 | In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Weekend Recap: Portland 2014 | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a comment