Frozen Peppermint Pie

I’m sure you’re well aware of my love for all things baking (Hello, way more baking posts than crafts or travel!). Over the past few weeks, I have been so busy with wedding-related events, birthday-related events, and visitors/visiting, that I haven’t been able to play in the kitchen! I had to make up for it somehow, right? So when I had absolutely no plans last weekend, I went a little bake crazy… First I made brownie bites. They were from the box, so I won’t be posting them. I may or may not have served them warm with vanilla ice cream and strawberry sauce (hint: I did). And then I made this Frozen Peppermint Pie. While that was firming up, I made Dark Stout Chocolate Cupcakes. You’ll read about that in my next post, though. Onward to the Frozen Peppermint Pie!

I found the recipe for on Smucker’s around Christmas while searching for a Christmas-y recipe to make for a family get together. I had all of the ingredients on hand at that Christmas shindig, except for the heavy whipping cream, so I never made it. Until now.

Ingredients

For the crust (unless you want to be like me and just buy an Oreo crust..)

  • 2 cups chocolate wafer cookie or sandwich cookie crumbs
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
For the filling
  • (8 oz.) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk (like Eagle Brand)
  • 2 teaspoons peppermint extract
  • 2 cups heavy cream, whipped
  • Red food coloring (optional, I used 15!! drops to get a slightly pink hue)
  • Chocolate fudge topping (optional, but I used Smucker’s)

Directions

For the crust (ignore if you went the easy route)

  1. Line 9-inch round cake or spring-form pan with foil.
  2. Combine cookie crumbs and sugar in medium bowl. Add butter; mix well. Press 2 cups crumbs firmly onto bottom and partway up sides of prepared pan. Chill.
For the filling
  1. Beat cream cheese until fluffy in large bowl. Gradually add sweetened condensed milk until smooth. Stir in peppermint extract and food coloring, if desired; mix well. Fold in whipped cream. Pour filling into crust.
  2. Cover; freeze 6 hours or until firm. Garnish with fudge topping, if desired.
20120716-153233.jpg

Only seven ingredients!

20120716-153246.jpg

I may or may not have tried a few spoonfuls of this.

20120716-153254.jpg

Still not the pink I wanted after eight drops of food coloring..

20120716-153301.jpg

Exactly the color I wanted after 15 drops!

It barely fit into my skinny freezer!

Some people saw this picture and thought I was posting a picture of either a slab of meat or an organ.. Nope, just refreshing frozen peppermint pie!

Let the pie sit out about 10-15 minutes before serving to make it easier to cut and eat! This pie is so refreshing to eat in the summer! Dave and Judy came over for dinner and I served it for dessert. Everyone couldn’t get over how thick and creamy it was, with the perfect amount of peppermint flavor. I know it’s kind of holiday-y, but I think it’s going to become a summer staple! I could see swapping out the peppermint extract for orange liquor or perhaps some strawberry puree? I may have created a monster!

I’m going to put up the Stout Cupcake recipe asap, as I think you’ll love it! This weekend, I’ll be a little traveling bee, heading up to Oregon for some outdoorsy adventures. Then it’s on to Chicago to visit Mel! I’m sure I’ll have heaps of fabulous food- and travel-related posts for you all to read about.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Of Cupcakes and Cocktails: Dark Stout Chocolate Cupcakes « In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: En Fuego Lives On « In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: 2014 Highlights | In Natalie's Shoes

  4. Pingback: Of Cupcakes and Cocktails: Dark Stout Chocolate Cupcakes | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a comment