RSS Feed

Of Cupcakes and Cocktails: Dark Stout Chocolate Cupcakes

Mmm.. Beer. Homer Simpson would be proud. I’ve been a fan of beer for quite a while. My love for the stuff only grew when I moved to the home of Sierra Nevada Brewery (Chico) for school, jetted off to Prague for a semester, and then visited Munich for Oktoberfest (the legit one). Talk about getting fabulous beer straight from the source(s)!

I got the recipe from the same fabulous cocktail-inspired book by Kate Leger as a previous post, Intoxicated Cupcakes: 41 Tipsy Treats. This is another recipe of Kate’s that I love. It is delightfully delicious and not your typical cloyingly sweet cupcake. And it involves beer. Yum!

20120716-153145.jpg

I love mini cupcakes, if you haven’t noticed.

Ingredients

For the cupcakes

  • 1 cup dark stout beer (I used Shastafarian Porter)
  • 6 Tablespoons salted butter
  • 4 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I like to sift my dry ingredients- in this case, the flour and baking soda- together!)
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda

For the icing

  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, at room temperature (I used 1/3 fat and it was just as tasty!)
  • 6 ounces white chocolate, melted and cooled (I used Ghirardelli’s Classic White chips)
  • 4 ounces (1 stick) salted butter
  • 1 Tablespoon dark stout beer
  • 1 cup mini marshmallows, for topping (totally optional!)

Directions

For the cupcakes

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line a cupcake pan with 18 cupcake liners. Set aside (I actually wound up with 18 “normal” sized and 14 minis! I think this recipe could potentially yield 24-26 “normal” sized cupcakes.)
  2. Combine the beer, butter, and chocolate in a double boiler. Stir mixture until smooth. When three-quarters of the chocolate has melted, remove the mixture from the head. Add to the sugar, stirring until the granules melt.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the sour cream, eggs, and vanilla. Use an electric mixer on medium speed to beat until combined. Tip: scrape down the sides of the bowl regularly! Slowly add the beer mixture. When smooth, add the flour and baking soda, mixing until smooth.
  4. Pour the batter into the prepared cups. Bake for 18-22 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cupcake comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes, or until cool enough to handle. Remove the cupcakes from the pan and cool completely.

For the icing

  1. Beat the cream cheese until fluffy. Slowly add the cooled, melted white chocolate, butter, and beer. Use the mixer on medium-high speed to beat until light and fluffy. Note: make sure the melted white chocolate is cooled quite a bit! If it’s still too warm, it will clump up when added to the cream cheese with the butter and beer.
  2. Top the cooled cupcakes with icing and marshmallows.

Makes 18 “normal” cupcakes and 14 minis.

20120716-152934.jpg

A little shout out to the CSU, Chico Alumni Association behind the majority of the ingredients.

20120716-152943.jpg

Shastafarian Porter from Mt. Shasta, CA!

20120716-152951.jpg

First use of the fabulous double boiler.

20120716-153009.jpg

I added the sugar to the beer, butter, and chocolate mixture, versus the other way around.

20120716-153019.jpg

After the granules have disappeared, the mixture will still be thin.

20120716-153027.jpg

Vanilla, eggs, and sour cream do not make for an aesthetic mixture.

20120716-153042.jpg

20120716-153051.jpg

Slightly thicker, but still pretty thin batter for cupcakes.

20120716-153105.jpg

20120716-153117.jpg

Big bites and small bites, cooling off.

20120716-153122.jpg

The double boiler is back in action!

20120716-153133.jpg

20120716-153140.jpg

All done!

This batch of goodies was all after I made brownie bites and a Frozen Peppermint Pie. So, as you can imagine, my kitchen was a little full of yummy treats! These were the perfect balance of chocolate, savory, and sweet, with a hint tart. Absolutely no sugar overdose here; but still sweet enough to be considered a cupcake. The Shastafarian’s flavor makes a brief cameo in each bite. Definitely my favorite out of the three recipes I made. While I’m one who enjoys baking for the process, not necessarily the end result, I knew I needed to get these delicious treats out — STAT! I gave some to the neighbors and took the rest to work. Personally, I preferred mine sans marshmallows; but some of my co-workers said they liked how the ‘mallows made the cupcake a bit sweeter.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

