Guest Post: Chocolate Oatmeal Pecan Cookies

Greeting from the Big Apple, y’all! My time in New York City is coming to a close, but we’ve already done so much and I can’t wait to share the deets with you. I fully plan posting during my upcoming adventures, but please bear with me while I acclimate to using WordPress’s app for editing and posting via my iPad. I can only view things in the coding view and it’s seriously killing my writing buzz. Any tech advice/help is greatly appreciated! Otherwise, I’ll stop bitching about tech problems, and get to sharing this lovely recipe from a delightful friend, Allie!

Hi In Nat’s Shoes readers! I’m Allie from Sweet Potato Bites and am so excited to be guest posting today.

Natalie and I have been internet friends for a while now and we decided it would be a fun idea to do a Christmas cookie swap this year since we are both California girls. Natalie sent me her famous 1,2,3 cookies which were delicious chocolate cookies with peppermint candies in them! Be sure to check out her guest post on Sweet Potato Bites on how to make them. And from personal experience, these cookies make excellent cookie ice cream sandwiches, just sayin’.

20131215-203535.jpg

I decided to make Natalie Chocolate Oatmeal Pecan Cookies because I feel that sometimes oatmeal cookies get a bad rap because they are “too boring” or “too healthy.” I actually love oatmeal cookies because then you can jazz them up a bit with fun ingredients like chocolate chips or nuts.

This recipe is actually adapted from the Tartine Cookbook (if you are ever in SF please go to Tartine!) and can be made how you want it! I used white chocolate chips, semi-sweet chocolate and pecans in my batch.

Chocolate Oatmeal Pecan Cookies (adapted from the Tartine Cookbook)
Makes 24 cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 cups old fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 cup coconut oil, softened
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp almond milk
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • ¼ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • ¼ cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350F. Lightly grease two baking sheets with cooking spray or line with parchment paper.
  2. In a mixing bowl blend your flour, baking powder, baking soda and oats and set aside.
  3. Using a stand mixer or a hand mixer (or you can whisk by hand) beat your coconut oil until creamy and begin to fold in your sugar.
  4. Add your eggs one at a time and continue to mix until well blended.
  5. Add your milk, vanilla and salt to your wet mixture and then slowly fold in your dry ingredients.
  6. Lastly add your pecans and chocolate chips and continue to mix until everything is nicely combined.
  7. Scoop spoonfuls of dough onto the baking sheet and flatten. You may need to wet your hands a bit since the dough will be sticky.
  8. Place cookies in the oven and bake for 10-12 minutes or until the bottoms are lightly browned. Remove cookies from oven and let cool, then enjoy!

20131215-203529.jpg

Thanks again to Natalie for letting me guest post!

About Allie:
Allie is a Southern California girl born and bred who loves to write about food. She has a few food allergies but doesn’t let that stop her from lots of delicious eats at various restaurants and through her own culinary creations! In addition to blogging for Sweet Potato Bites, she works a Senior Account Executive for a marketing agency. When she’s not working or writing about food, she’s running, getting her butt kicked in crossfit or wedding planning with her fiancée who is known as the Englishman on the blog. Learn more over at Sweet Potato Bites or follow her on Twitter @socaliallie.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for letting me guest post Natalie and for your delicious treats! It was so much fun 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: DIY Cinnamon Gift Tags | In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Loaded Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a comment