RSS Feed

Spicy Chicken Teriyaki Fried Rice Bowls

The weather in Napa has been quite erratic lately, but I’m not complaining. No, I rather like this slightly rainy, slightly overcast weather we’re currently experiencing. However, it makes me far less productive than normal, as I want to be dressed in my comfy clothes, curled up under a warm throw while sipping tea and reading for leisure. Or in the kitchen cooking up something comforting and tasty.Like my new favorite chicken teriyaki fried rice bowls. 

I’ve been a fan of “upgrading” Trader Joe’s Japanese-style fried rice for a while now. Don’t get me wrong, it’s amazing on its own! But if I’m going to eat it as a main dish, which I do with embarrassing regularity, I want more veggies, some heat, and heaps of egg bits all up in it. While I’m at it, what about some sauce with depth? Adding a little heft to the somewhat traditional veggie fried rice. A while back, I was given the opportunity to test out a bottle of Very, Very Teriyaki Marinade and Sauce from Soy Vay and share my opinions. It had been years, maybe even a decade?, since I’d last had Veri, Veri Teriyaki.. and I know I wasn’t the one who made whatever dish I’d last eaten that used it.

As the packaging and website attest, Veri, Veri Teriyaki makes meat marvelous and veggies really good. Seriously. The salty, garlicky and gingery flavors are given a bit more depth by the sesame seeds. And I learned Soy Vay got its start in Northern California before I was even around. Between the amazing flavor and the fact it’s local, Soy Vay has found a born again fan!

Spicy Chicken Teriyaki Fried Rice Bowls featuring Veri, Veri Teriyaki Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1/2 bottle of Soy Vay Veri, Veri Teriyaki (21 oz bottle)
  • 1 1/2 lbs chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 2 Tablespoons toasted sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon sriracha (optional)
  • 1 1/2 cups broccoli florets
  • 1 red bell pepper cut into matchsticks
  • 1 cup matchstick carrots
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 bag frozen Trader Joes Japanese Style Fried Rice (or 3-3.5 cups pre-cooked rice of your choice)
  • Sriracha, for drizzling
  • 1 green onion, chopped (optional)

Directions

  1. Mix one half bottle of teriyaki sauce, 1/2 teaspoon red chili flakes, and 1 teaspoon sriracha (if using) in a small bowl. Pour mixture over chicken pieces, stirring to coat. Cover and place in refrigerator, allowing to marinate for at least 20 minutes.
  2. Heat sesame oil in a large frying pan or wok over medium-high heat. Once heated through, add chicken and marinade into pan. Simmer for 6-8 minutes or until chicken has been cooked through. Remove chicken from pan.
  3. Using the same pan, cook broccoli for 3-5 minutes in the marinade. Add bell pepper and carrots, tossing to coat; cook for 3 minutes. Stir in eggs. Add frozen fried rice, stirring until cooked through.
  4. To serve, place rice in a bowl, top with chicken, green onions and a healthy drizzle of sriracha. Enjoy!

I love how the marinade thickens up a bit, creating just enough sauce to coat the veggies and rice, without making the rice bowl get soupy. The sriracha adds some kick and the veggies make you feel good about what you’re eating. The addition of chicken and Veri, Veri Teriyaki Marinade definitely brought my typical veggie fried rice to the next level. Heck, it made me feel like adult making stir-fry, rather than a 20-something eating takeout-style fried rice for dinner. I’m glad I can find Soy Vay at just about any grocery store, as I’m definitely be keeping this Spicy Chicken Teriyaki Fried Rice Bowl around!

I was sent a free sample of Soy Vay‘s Veri, Veri Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade to try out and share with you. I was quite pleased with this quick and easy dinner “upgrade”! As always, all opinions are my own. 

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

