RSS Feed

Getting Ready for Summer Travel

Summer is practically here and I am beyond excited for my upcoming trip to the Caribbean! I’ve been researching island traditions, culture and travel tips. We’ve narrowed down our list of places to check out to 3.5 islands: 1 US Territory, 1 US Virgin Island, 1 British Virgin Island and a half-day trip to a “must see” on every traveler list I read. I’ve also been doing some shopping (bikinis! beach hats! rompers!) and mentally preparing for packing. Catching some rays (safely!) has also been high on my preparation list because my skin is ghostly and don’t want to burn to a crisp in the Caribbean sun. Snow White here needs her base tan!

Getting Ready for Summer Travel | @innatsshoes However, it took quite a bit of preparation for my skin to be ready to see the light of the sun! Since January, the weather in Napa Valley has been fluctuating from cold to hot and rainy to sunny almost every week, it seems. Then mix in traveling to chillier locals like Redding and Chico during the winter, followed by more humid weather in Tennessee. Needless to say, my skin was not happy with me: dry, dull and breaking out.

Thankfully, I’ve had a few no-fail beauty products I love and I was gifted a few new products to try out. Here are some of my favorite products to get your skin looking flawless  for summer travel after the winter weather:

Getting Ready for Summer Travel | @innatsshoes

Facial Polishing Mask in Charcoal and Black Sugar by Freeman Beauty – I’ve been using this mask for over a year and absolutely love how it softens and brightens rough, dry skin. It warms slightly when applied to your face and is gentle enough to use every week.

Botanics Rosewater Toning Spritz by Boots – After reading many articles like this one about the benefits of using rosewater, I decided to jump on the bandwagon (while also taking advantage of a sweet Ulta sale!). Aside from the benefits of calming, hydrating and cleansing skin, it also smells delish! Plus, this one comes in a spray bottle AND is 100% organic. Win!

renewed hope in a jar by philosophy – My love for philosophy dramatically increased when I learned they are a cruelty-free brand. When my local Ulta store was out of my hope in a jar night cream, I was forced to try their updated version called renewed hope in a jar. I was pleasantly surprised with the improved scent and how much more quickly I noticed my skin improving after nightly use.

Water Sleeping Mask by Laneige – Whether your skin is ridiculously dry or just breaking out, I urge you to try this stuff! I found a sample of this in one of my magazines in the fall. I decided to try it out in January when my skin was breaking out like crazy. Simply apply a thin layer over your nighttime moisturizer and then rinse off in the morning. My breakout had disappeared literally overnight! I fell in love and was happy to discover my local Target carried it for a reasonable price. Now I use it at least once a week to keep my skin looking supple and clear.Getting Ready for Summer Travel | @innatsshoes

All-Over Body Scrub++ by c.Booth – I chose to test out this body scrub after I received a coupon for a free c.Booth product from Influenster. I’m so glad I did! The eucalyptus scent instantly awakens your senses and gently tingles your skin. The sea salt is wonderful for exfoliating tough places like knees and elbows, so that skin glows afterward! Anytime I’m planning on showing my legs or arms, I’m sure to use this scrub in the shower.

c.Booth Italian Olive Oil Body Butter by c.Booth – I loved the All-Over Body Scrub so much that I went back and purchased this body butter. This stuff smells like a dream spa and the skin-softening ingredients ensure you won’t be able to stop using it. Seriously, I’m almost out and am already adding another container to my shopping list!

Pure Epsom Salt Soaking Solution in Soothe & Sleep with Lavender++ by Dr. Teals – Not only is this soak great for falling asleep quickly and easing aches and pains, it does absolute wonders for your skin! The lavender and epsom salt smooths rough skin, making this stuff a triple threat!

Nothing like having a fresh face and glowing skin to make a girl wish her vacation would get here more quickly! What are some of the ways you prep your skin for summer travel?

I received products marked with ++ complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes and the other products were purchased on my own dime. As always, my opinions on all of the products above are my own.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

