RSS Feed

Spicy Chili-Lime Chicken Tacos

Despite loving to travel and very much enjoying my trip, I’m still recovering from my visit to west Tennessee. And I don’t just mean the exhaustion from two full days of traveling or the aches in my body from sitting in an airplane seat and lugging around my tightly packed carry-on. No, I mean my taste buds.

For the duration of my trip, I survived on tasty Memphis-style barbecue, chicken ‘n dumplings, pulled pork, hamburgers, and casseroles. Plus all of the desserts we made, like my bourbon pecan pie bars and chocolate chip cookies. Basically, I was craving fresh veggies paired with a spicy depth that only Asian and Mexican flavors can provide.

Enter these tacos bursting with Thai-Mexican fusion flavor!

You may remember that a while back I shared my recipe for Thai-Inspired Wraps, which featured the peanut sauce sent to me by Ayara Thai. Once again, I’ve used their sauces, this time the thai-chili lime sauce, to create a quick and tasty recipe that flavor and spice lovers will.. well, love.

 I do have a confession, I didn’t think I’d like the chili-lime combo. I can’t recall a time I’d eaten anything chili-lime and the suggestion on the bottle, “use as a dip or marinade with seafood” instantly made me think shrimp, which I hate. But I couldn’t have been more wrong. This marinade is citrusy and spicy. It jazzes up anything it’s paired with. I love it! The cabbage and red bell peppers offer some relief fromt he heat and the guac and cheddar cheese are obvious accompanyments to any taco, despite the Thai flavors.Spicy Chili-Lime Chicken Tacos

Ingredients

  • 1 8oz. bottle of Ayara Thai Chili-Lime Sauce, or similar marinade
  • 1 lb. chicken breasts sliced into strips
  • 1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 12 white corn tortillas, taco size
  • 2 cups sharp cheddar
  • 1/2 cup guacamole
  • 1/2 head green cabbage

Directions

  1. Place chicken and chili-lime sauce in a large bowl or gallon-sized freezer bag, ensuring all chicken is coated. Refrigerate for at least 20 minutes (or up to 24 hours).
  2. While the chicken is marinating, cut bell pepper into matchsticks, dice onion, and cut cabbage into long strips, set aside.
  3. Once chicken is done marinating, heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Use tongs or a fork to remove chicken from the marinade, discard excess liquid. Cook chicken for 3-5 minutes, until just cooked on the outside. Stir in bell pepper matchsticks and cook for another 3-5 minutes.
  4. Lightly grease a large pan with cooking spray or vegetable oil, heating over low heat. Warm tortillas for approximately 1 minute on each side, adding a sprinkling of cheese on the final side. Remove from heat set aside until chicken and bell pepper mixture is done. Note: you can also do this on a lightly greased cookie sheet in the oven set to 200 F or so. Keep an eye on them so they don’t burn!
  5. Top each cheesy tortilla with chicken and bell pepper mixture, guacamole and cabbage.

Makes 12 tacos, serves 4.


A special thanks to Ayara for sending me their sauces to try out and share with you. I enjoyed how the sauce enabled me to make a quick and easy dinner! As always, all opinions are my own. 

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

