RSS Feed

1, 2, 3 Cookies: Chocolate White Chip Cranberry

It’s been an interesting couple of months weather-wise here in Napa Valley. Highs in the 90s one day and hail storms on others. Is it winter? Is it spring? Sprinter?

When it’s hot out, I want nothing to do with the kitchen. I want a big fresh salad and a glass of sauv blanc on the patio, please. But on days with clouds or rain, I want to be cozy in the kitchen, baking something tasty. And thankfully, it doesn’t have to be anything terribly difficult. I usually just create a new version of my favorite 1, 2, 3 Cookies, like I did here.

One of my favorite things about 1, 2, 3 Cookies is how versatile the recipe is. Have extra pecans on hand? Throw them in. Someone doesn’t like dried cranberries? Swap them out for raisins. Want all chocolate everything? Use a combo of white, milk and dark chocolate chips. The only recipe constant is the core group of ingredients: 1 cake mix, 2 eggs, and 1/3 cup of oil. You get to pick the flavor cake mix and what you mix in with every single batch. Get creative!

1, 2, 3 Cookies: Chocolate White Chip Cranberry

Ingredients

  • 1 chocolate fudge cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.
  2. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients until well combined.
  3. Roll cookie dough into 1″ balls and place 1-2″ apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  4. Take tray out and cool for few minutes before removing cookies from the tray to cool completely on a wire rack.

Makes approximately 36 cookies.

You could also roll the dough into balls and freeze on a cookie sheet, before storing them in a freezer bag for easy access to tasty cookies whenever you’d like.

I just want you to have easy cookies!

These tasty cookies come out crisp on the outside but chewy in the middle. They’re absolutely perfect for dunking into coffee or a glass of milk. Whether or not you’re doing this while in bed with your pjs on and reading a good book/watching a movie while it’s raining out is totally up to you.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

