RSS Feed

Apple Cider Sangria

Well, I officially lasted about a week into my “Dry January” challenge. Maybe “Dry February” will be a better fit. It’s all about intentions, right?

Anyway, one of my favorite cocktails from the 2015 holiday season was this ridiculously easy and incredibly tasty apple sangria. Plus, it helped me use up the plethora of apple cider I bought during my Apple Hill adventure this past fall. It was a little too easy to drink and way full of booze, so it was a perfect choice for both my roommates’ going away party and a lazy Friday night.

Total win-win. 

Apple Cider Sangria –  adapted from How Sweet It Is

Ingredients

  • 1 750mL bottle of dry white wine (like Chardonnay)
  • 3 1/2 cups fresh apple cider
  • 2 12 oz. bottles of ginger beer (I like Cock and Bull because it’s a bit spicier)
  • 1 cup brandy
  • 2 apples, sliced
  • 1 pear, sliced
  • 5 cinnamon sticks, plus extra for garnish
  • cinnamon sugar for the rim, optional
  • Sparkling wine, optional

Directions

  1. In a large pitcher or punch bowl, stir all ingredients together. Refrigerate for one hour or so before serving.
  2. To serve: Rim chilled glasses with cinnamon sugar. Place extra apple and pear slices and ice in glass before pouring sangria in. Garnish with a cinnamon stick and a float of sparkling wine, if you’re feeling boozy.
  3. Cheers yourself and/or your friends and enjoy!

IMG_3320

I added a bit more sparkle by doing a float of sparkling wine on top. Extra booze is always a win! So make it ahead of time and chill while you’re prepping your apps for your party or waiting for your Chinese food delivery on a Saturday night, you decide!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

