RSS Feed

Crockpot Curry Cashew Chicken

Can you believe it? We are officially in autumn! I really, really hope that the Northern California weather can cooperate, because these 90+ degree days are just not cutting it. I’m ready for chunky sweaters, boots, soy chai tea lattes, and all of the crock pot recipes. All of them.

Napa has basically been acting like a desert over the past few months and I’m over it. A girl can eat only so many salads and stir-fry dishes. So, I decided to pretend like it was fall and cook a fabulous curry without heating up my kitchen. This recipe from Creme de la Crumb is so fast and so delicious, you will wonder why you haven’t made it sooner! I might be speaking from personal experience.

So! Are you ready for the easiest curry recipe in all of the land? 

I shared the link to the recipe a few Friday Five posts ago and made it that same weekend. Even having read the recipe before starting it, I was so surprised with how easy a meal this was to make.

Seriously, though. It only took 10 minutes to chop up the ingredients, mix up the sauce and turn on the crockpot. Then I walked away from the kitchen for nearly 4 hours. I maybe squeezed a nap into that time. (Yes, I did.)

Crockpot Coconut Curry Cashew Chicken adapted from Creme de la Crumb

Ingredients

  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, pounded thin and chopped into bite-size pieces
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 2 small red potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • ½ white or yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups unsweetened full-fat coconut milk (or one 14-ounce can + ½ cup chicken broth)
  • 1 Tablespoon yellow curry powder
  • 2 Tablespoons red curry paste
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • corn starch slurry (whisk together 3 tablespoons cold water and 2 tablespoons corn starch)
  • 2 crowns broccoli, chopped
  • cashews and cooked rice for serving

Directions

  1. Add chicken pieces, red peppers, potatoes, and onions to the crockpot.
  2. Whisk together chicken broth, curry powder, cumin, salt, and cayenne pepper in a bowl. Pour sauce mixture into the crockpot and stir to coat chicken and vegetables. Cover and cook on low 4-5 hours.
  3. After approximately 3 1/2 hours of cooking (or 30 minutes before serving), stir in  your corn starch slurry.
  4. Stir broccoli and coconut milk into the crockpot 20 minutes before serving.
  5. About 10-15 minutes before serving, stir in coconut milk. Stir just before serving and top with cashews.

Note: You can also cook on high for 2-3 hours; remember to adjust the time of slurry, broccoli and coconut additions.

Serves 6-8 when served with rice.

I don’t know about you, but when I find a recipe that is this simple, flavorful, makes my house smell delicious, and pairs well with a Sauv Blanc, I stick it in my rotation and share it with everyone I know! I have a feeling I’ll be playing with different veggies but will likely keep the rest the same.

I seriously cannot get over this recipe. The end.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

