RSS Feed

Easy Candied Bacon

Happy hump day! I’m still trying to get back to reality after a quick jaunt up to the Oregon coast for a bachelorette party. We had an absolute blast. Dune buggy ride on the sand dunes to the beach? Check. Eating a ridiculous amount of freshly caught crab? Check. Drinking way too much champs/ beer/ cider? Check. Taking advantage of a gorgeous day at the beach and getting sunburned? Check.

Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes @innatsshoesBut enough about me. Let’s talk about something you can make. Something that will change your life. Candied bacon. But not just any candied bacon– no, I’m sharing easy candied bacon.

During a quick jaunt to Denver last year, I discovered “Man Candy” at a tavern. It was ridiculously thick bacon that had been candied and had a spicy kick at the end. In other words, it was delicious. Determined to create something similar, I started messing around with different ingredient combinations. I finally got something pretty close.

Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes @innatsshoesAs any fan of bacon will state, there’s nothing like making it as quickly and easily as possible. I shared my method for perfect bacon with you all a while back, but this is a little different.

Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes @innatsshoes

Also, if you like some heat, you can add some smoked paprika or even a few splashes of sriracha sauce. Drool.

Easy Candied Bacon

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. thick cut bacon
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • black pepper and grinder
  • smoked paprika and/or sriracha sauce (optional)

Tools

  • Jelly roll pan or rimmed cookie sheet (yep, there is a difference)
  • aluminium foil (for easy cleanup!)
  • oven-safe metal cooling rack
  • basting brush
  • tongs

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 425 F. Line your pan with foil and place metal cooling rack in your pan (if you’re using two square racks, it’s okay if they overlap).
  2. Spread the bacon out over the rack as closely as possible, but without overlapping.
  3. Brush a healthy amount of maple syrup over the top side of each slice of bacon. If using sriracha, mix a small amount into the maple syrup before brushing on bacon. Sprinkle brown sugar, freshly ground black pepper and smoked paprika (if using) over each slice.
  4. Bake for 10 minutes before turning each slice over and repeating step 3. Return to the oven for an additional 15-17 minutes.
  5. Allow to cool before remove bacon from the rack.

Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes @innatsshoes

There are so many ways to enjoy your candied bacon. Perhaps atop a dark stout chocolate cupcake..

Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes @innatsshoes

or a deviled egg..

Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes @innatsshoes

.. or on its own!

Easy Candied Bacon | In Natalie's Shoes @innatsshoes

This stuff is a crowd favorite! It’s always devoured quickly when I’ve made it for gatherings. How will you devour your candied bacon?

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Whatttt?? Candied bacon sounds so good and this looks pretty easy actually! Might make a caramel apple and dip in candied bacon… YUM!! http://www.ourfoodieappetite.com/belmont-house-of-smoke-norfolk-va-review/

    Reply
  2. Uhhh, I’ll be expecting this with some. Snicker doodles, K? Thanks! Kisses!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

