RSS Feed

Thai-Inspired Wraps with Ayara Peanut Sauce

Guys, it has been disgustingly hot in Napa lately. One of the worst things about living in a new home that lacks functional insulation is cooking a proper dinner each night. No, I don’t want to make a roast chicken in 90 F weather, thanks. And no, I don’t want another salad/bowl of cereal/ ice cream sandwich for dinner. I swear I’m an adult.

A while back, Ayara Thai sent me two of their sauces to try. I did some reading and learned that founder Vanda Asapahu is a fellow food lover, just like me, and that the sauce brand actually started with a family-owned restaurant in the Los Angeles area. You can learn more about their story here.

As a lover of all things Thai food, I jumped at the chance to create a quick, easy, and tasty dinner that wouldn’t make me break out in a sweat.

Man did I luck out. This peanut sauce is absolutely delicious! It has a tiny hint of both spice and acidity which pairs well with the veggies. The meal comes together in about 30-45 minutes and doesn’t force you to turn on an oven or stand over a hot stove for more than 10 minutes. Win! 

Thai-Inspired Wraps featuring Ayara Thai Peanut Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 8oz. bottle of Ayara Thai Peanut Sauce (or similar)
  • 1 lb. chicken breasts
  • black pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil (I like the rich flavor of sesame oil, but you can use vegetable oil for a milder flavor)
  • 2 cups sliced red bell peppers and green beans (or other veggies of your choice)
  • 2-4 fajita-size tortillas (depends on how much filling you use)
  • 1/2 cup matchstick carrots
  • green onions for garnish

Directions

  1. Pour approximately 1/3 bottle of Ayra Thai Peanut Sauce over chicken. Top with freshly cracked black pepper. Cover and marinate for approximately 20-30 minutes.
  2. Heat a large skillet (or wok, if you have one) over medium-high heat, pour in oil. Add in chicken and cook for approximately 4-5 minutes or until just cooked through.
  3. Slice chicken breasts length-wise, set aside.
  4. In the same pan, stir in bell peppers and green beans, cooking for approximately 4-5 minutes or until cooked but still crunchy.
  5. Remove from heat. Add chicken and 1/2 of remaining sauce, stirring to combine.
  6. Using tongs, divide chicken and veggie mixture between warmed tortillas. Top with carrots, green onions and the remaining peanut sauce.
  7. Roll up and devour while standing over the sink with a glass of sauv blanc in your other hand. Or be classy, if you’d like.

Can I say that I love how this recipe makes excellent leftovers for lunch? Just refrain from eating the tasty sauce by the spoonful (*ahem*) and reheat everything else. So easy!

I’m bummed that I can’t find Ayara’s sauces in any stores in Napa (L.A. has quite a few options, though!), however, I love that I can get my Thai fix from their online store. Looking forward to trying the Chili-Lime Sauce the sent me very soon. Obvi I’ll be sharing with you all!

A special thanks to Ayara for sending me their sauces to try out and share with you. I was so pleased with this quick and easy dinner “hack”! As always, all opinions are my own. 

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. It’s so hard to find a good peanut sauce (or maybe I’m picky?). I’m going to give this one a try. it would be nice to have a back up for when it’s too time consuming to make your own.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Spicy Chili-Lime Chicken Tacos | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

