RSS Feed

Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats

Hi loves! I’ve missed you. Life has been all over the place– mostly due to fun and amazing things happening– forcing me to write less and put some fun projects on hold. They’re still in the works, but just pushed back a little longer. As promised, I have heaps of things to share with you. Let’s start with tasty things, shall we?

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe. I swear I’m not a recipe hoarder (however, when it comes to purses and shoes, I can’t really comment..), but I’ve got quite the stockpile of delicious food things that I can’t wait to share with you any longer!

Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats | @innatsshoes

And can I just say, oh. man. This is a good one to start with. And it just topped my Party Perfect Spinach Dip for most requested recipe at my office.

Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats | @innatsshoesAs you may have begun to realize, I like making variations of traditional recipes, like this other rice krispies upgrade. I don’t like following recipes to a T and absolutely love throwing in additional ingredients or swapping out flavors. Such a rebel. I love trashing up recipes!

Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats | @innatsshoes

If you’re not down to spice up a recipe a bit, keep in mind this upgrade only has four ingredients and is no bake. SO hard to screw this one up, guys.

Ingredients

  • 4 Milky Way candy bars (sometimes I’ll add an extra bar to make them more gooey!)
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 4 cups of Rice Krispies
  • 1 bag of milk chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Heavily grease a 13×9” pan with butter, set aside.
  2. Using a double boiler and stirring frequently, melt the butter and Milky Way bars together. The result should be completely combined and smooth. (You can do this in the microwave, I’d imagine, but use a low power and short increments. Perhaps 1 min on 30% power until combined?)
  3. Incorporate the rice krispies into the melted chocolate mixture, stirring well. Pour into greased pan and using a rubber spatula or wax paper, flatten evenly.
  4. Melt the chocolate chips (I used the double boiler method) and pour over the top of the rice krispies. Spread evenly.
  5. Let sit for a few hours or overnight to solidify. If you’re in a hurry, putting them in the fridge for about an hour speeds the process up, too.
  6. Once firm, cut into squares and try not to eat them all.

Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats | @innatsshoes

These bars will be gone before you know it. So. so. so. delicious. And they’re easy to customize– try Milky Way Midnight bars + dark chocolate chips. Snickers bars + semisweet chips. Throw some sprinkles or nuts on top. Trash it up! Because you know that’s what I do on the regular.

Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats | @innatsshoes

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Modish | Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats

Leave a Reply

