RSS Feed

Curried Chicken Salad


With Easter being this Sunday, those of us who celebrate are probably considering what the heck to do with all of our decorated hardboiled eggs come Sunday night. Friends, I can’t solve all of your egg overload problems, but I do have a solution for some of them.

And for those who don’t celebrate? Well, perhaps you sometimes find yourself with hardboiled eggs that you don’t know what to do with. I like being in that situation.

Sure, you can make Cobb salads or egg salad sandwiches. Both great options. But I want to give you an option with a bit more pizazz.

It started out like any other chicken salad recipe. But, without celery, dried fruit and nuts, because ew. But over the years, I’ve added some very un-Natalie things to it. Red onions super grainy mustard.. and curry powder!? But trust me. The curry powder adds this, little something.. richness? depth? that takes the chicken salad to a whole other level. The curry powder is a must!
I’ve come up with many ways to eat this deliciousness, including making curried chicken salad cheddar melts with extra cheddar. Or serving it between two slices of sprouted grain bread like any other sandwich. Some days, scooping out gobs of it with the most amazing Trader Joe’s Organic Blue Corn Tortilla Chips. Other, more adventurous days, making curried chicken salad nachos (use those TJ’s chips and sprinkle some cheddar cheese on each layer; broil until melty).

And then, of course,  just standing over my sink eating it with a fork. I swear I can be classy sometimes.

Curried Chicken Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 (12.5 oz) can of chicken (or you can use the equivalent in cooked chicken breasts, shredded)
  • 2 hardboiled eggs, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup diced red onions
  • 2 teaspoon grainy mustard, like Inglehoffer Stone Ground Mustard
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked pepper
  • pinch of red chili flakes

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients. Season to taste.

Makes enough for 2-3 sandwiches.

For work lunches, it’s easier to just dig in with the chips from TJ’s. But when I have a little extra time, I love to make cheddar chicken salad sandwich melts. Because anything with melted cheese is sure to be delicious. Just make sure not to burn the bread. And definitely try to dunk the sandwich in tomato soup. I know. I know. I’m trashing it up way more than it needs to be. I think it’d be tasty in a lettuce wrap or on celery if you’re going low-carb/gluten-free, too. Yum!

Cheddar Chicken Salad Melt

This recipe is one of my go-to favorites. So easy to make and knocks a few lunches out of the way!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. This looks so good! Never thought to eat chicken salad with chips, but I may have to try that!

    Reply
    • Thank you! I discovered it on accident! Had no bread but had some chips in the pantry. Especially nice if you’re trying to cut down on carbs (or gluten) and have gluten-free chips around to use instead of bread.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

