RSS Feed

Let Me Upgrade You: Lucky Charms Treats

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to all of you who are Irish or want to be Irish! Will you be partaking in festivities? I haven’t decided that yet.. But since it’s a holiday and all, I wanted to share something tasty and fun that fits with Irish luck. But you can make this recipe any time of the year and not go wrong. Trust. 

I should probably warn you that this was one of my better upgrades. Like dangerously better. Anyone who has tried them loves these treats. They’re so easy to make, I usually just spout off the recipe. But now I’ll share it with you, little loves!

A while back, I was craving rice crispy treats but didn’t have all of the necessary ingredients to make a batch. As I perused the grocery store aisles, looking for rice crispy cereal, I spotted the bright red box of Lucky Charms. Having always loved Lucky Charms growing up, ‘Why couldn’t this work just like rice crispy cereal?’ I’d wondered. Wouldn’t it be even more marshmallowy and delicious? And so I give you, my upgraded version of rice crispy treats– Lucky Charms Treats!

Lucky Charms Treats 1

Side note: just as with the cookie dough chunks in cookie dough ice cream and the rye chips in Gardetto’s, I still pick out all of the marshmallows in Lucky Charms to eat first. Spoiled. Brat.

Lucky Charms Treats 2

In true Nat fashion, I didn’t follow the recipe for RCT to make these Lucky Charms Treats. I bet official recipes exist. OMG it’s 2015, I can guarantee it. I probably should have just Googled some fancy recipe for my idea, but it was too much fun creating it on my own. I kinda just mixed and matched in each version before finding a balance that was too easy to forget and tasted amazing.

Oh, and I always make rice crispy treats with way more marshmallows than the recipe on the box calls for. Clearly a good idea. So nothing was going to stop me from doing the same thing with this recipe! I started out measuring the marshmallows and then told myself that marshmallows are really light and fluffy, so I should probably pour the whole bag into the pot of melting butter. And that’s exactly what I did.

Lucky Charms Treats 3

Since it’s a holiday and all, you could be extra festive and use clover or star cookie cutters to make these treats into different shapes.. Or try using sprinkles for extra sugar decoration is probably fun, too! But I was not involving myself with aesthetics– I just wanted to shove some treats in my face. Sometimes I’m particularly classy.

Lucky Charms Treats 4

Lucky Charm Treats (an upgraded version of Rice Krispie Treats)

Ingredients

  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 11.5 oz box of Lucky Charms cereal (about 8 cups)
  • 10.5 oz bag of mini marshmallows (about 5 cups)

Directions

  1. Lightly grease a 13×9″ pan with butter. Set aside.
  2. In a large pot, melt butter completely. Mix in mini marshmallows, stirring occasionally until completely melted. Remove from heat.
  3. Gradually stir in Lucky Charms cereal (about 2 cups at a time), making sure the cereal is coated with the melted butter-marshmallow mixture before adding in more cereal.
  4. Pour the treats into the greased 13×9″ pan. Using a piece of wax paper or a greased rubber spatula, spread the treats evenly in the pan. Let set for about an hour, before cutting into shareable pieces.

Makes approximately 24 Lucky Charms Treats.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Let Me Upgrade You: Milky Way Rice Krispies Treats | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

