RSS Feed

Places I’d Rather Be…

Call it the winter blues or just a blah week, but I am over this final week of January. Perhaps it’s something to do with Mercury being in retrograde? I’ve been seeing all sorts of articles about that, though I’m not really sure what it means, exactly. Even after reading said articles.

But anyway, the wonderful Ms. Kortni will be venturing down from Portland this weekend, giving me something fun to look forward to. I’m trying to occupy my mind with fun things for us to do. Wine tasting! Eating! Basking in 70 F degree California sunshine! But sometimes, I need like, full on distraction. To take my mind out of this funk, I’m whisking it away to other places I’d rather be.

Always suffering from a serious case of wanderlust, I decided to check out two of my favorite travel blogs– and dive into my personal travel history– in an effort to escape from reality for a bit. I decided that if I could go anywhere, right.this.second., I’d want to go to one of these three places: 

Photo courtesy of Lazy Travelers

Photo courtesy of Lazy Travelers

.. in Melbourne, Australia. Chef has been watching the Australian Open like, every night, so it’s not surprising to me that Australia’s on my brain. Not only because I regularly try to live vicariously through the romantic and the hubs’ RTW stay down undah from 2013 (serious, they know how to make a girl jealous!), but because one of my dear friends from studying abroad, Mel, lives there. I’d love to visit her in her homeland and tour all around the bustling city. Plus, it’d be an opportunity to learn more about the microbreweries, which the romantic says are just gaining momentum down under. For, um.. educational purposes?

Eiffel Tower in January 2013

I can’t wait to share my Paris experience with you!

.. in Paris, France. Yes, the final location of 2013-14’s Christmas trip. My adventures here will be shared in the near future. But for now, I dream about wandering around this vast city, sipping wine and slathering baguettes with that amazing French butter. And feeling fabulous every time I get the metro right.

Photo courtesy of The World Wanderer

Photo courtesy of The World Wanderer

.. pretty much anywhere in Africa. Erin of The World Wanderer regularly talks about how much she loves the continent of Africa. That’s a lot of love for such a spacious hunk of land! While studying abroad, I briefly considered a side trip to Cairo, but I ended up choosing Istanbul instead. Perusing Erin’s images of safaris, exploring and big cats (surprise, surprise) have me interested in visiting and learning more about all of the countries in a continent I’ve yet to step foot on!

It should come as no surprise that when feeling particularly blah, I use booze, food, and cats to cheer me up. Okay, all in moderation! Hopefully, as the article above suggests, Mercury will get the heck out of retrograde–or whatever the hell is going on– and I can go back to being my normal self. Though, I doubt my wanderlust will ever subside. The silver lining to all of this has got to be adding new locations to my travel bucket list!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Ah I’m with you here. Seriously feeling the winter blahs. But I’m going to Thailand in 2 weeks so I can’t complain! Pics of baby animals are also helpful…

    Reply
    • Yes, Karla! Those adorable pictures of baby animals you were tweeting to me made me so happy! I’m so jealous you’re going to Thailand. I can’t wait to hear all about it and get recs from you for whenever I’m able to go!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

