RSS Feed

Thai Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Hi guys. I have some really exciting news that I really want to share with you. But I can’t yet! My darling friend Kortni (who, by the way, is engaged!) and I have been working on some seriously cool things recently. Well, she has been working really hard.. But anyway, I’m trying really hard not to spill the beans just yet.

So I thought I’d share something else today. Something that will fit with my your New Year’s resolutions. It’s really hard to mess up and super quick to make. And it’s delicious.

2015/01/img_9970.jpg

A while back, Chef wanted to try out the whole Paleo-Primal thing. As you might imagine, I was just not on board. Eventually, I decided I was being too hard on his decision. I mean, if he wants to give up everything delicious, why add insult to injury? Also, I really had/have no idea what is “allowed” in this style of eating, so I really have no room to hate. It just sounded like I’d have to give up everything tasty.

So, I gave in and started searching for recipes that sounded at least mildly appetizing to me. It was then that I stumbled upon this amazing Thai Turkey Lettuce Wrap recipe from.. wait for it.. Betty Crocker? Ya, I know, right? Now, I’m not sure whether this recipe falls into the Paleo-Primal category, but it sounded good and is healthy.. So, win-win?

2015/01/img_0018.jpg

Side note: Did you know that varieties of limes that look like lemons exist? No seriously, look. My mom has a miniature lime tree and this is what comes off it. Yellow on the outside, green on the inside and tastes like lime. Bizarre.

You can find the exact Betty Crocker here. Below is how I make these amazing Thai Lettuce Turkey Wraps:

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 lb ground turkey
  • 1 Tablespoon toasted sesame oil (optional)
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped fresh mint
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh lime juice (about a 1/2 lime)
  • 2 Tablespoons fish sauce
  • 3 Tablespoons creamy peanut butter
  • 2 teaspoons red chile paste
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes (more or less depending on how spicy you like it)
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/3 cup chopped salted peanuts
  • 12 medium butter lettuce leaves
  • Sriracha sauce for serving (optional)

Directions

  1. Heat a large nonstick pan, adding sesame oil (if using) once hot. Cook turkey over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally. Once thoroughly cooked, drain and return to pan.
  2. Stir in green onions, mint, lime juice, fish sauce, peanut butter, chile paste, sugar and red pepper flakes. Cook 3 to 4 minutes longer or until hot.
  3. While filling is cooking, rinse 12 butter lettuce leaves and pat dry.
  4. Spoon turkey mixture onto each lettuce leaf (about 2 heaping Tablespoons each). Top with carrots and peanuts. Drizzle with sriracha (if using). Serve warm.

2015/01/img_0105.jpg

I love making this recipe because it’s not only super tasty, it’s ridiculously quick to make! I always slice, dice and prep my ingredients so I can throw all of them in at once with the turkey. A few quick stirs, and you’re done!

2015/01/img_9968.jpg

We frequently have this recipe as dinner for two (finishing all of it), but could easily be used as appetizers for a larger group before a different main dish. Like the Japanese-style fried rice from Trader Joe’s. Or paired with the chicken gyoza from Trader Joe’s. Gah, my favorite. Sometimes we’ll add sliced red bell peppers to make it even more healthy. I just love that it takes less than 30 minutes to throw together, so even when Chef is getting off late, we can still share a homemade meal together.

P.S. that Paleo-Primal thing didn’t stick around for long. It required a ton of meal planning, which was especially challenging for someone who has as busy a schedule as Chef. And I like to bake, so.. ya. 

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. We’ve done a similar thing with chicken and beef using Chinese sauces. I love turkey and this looks like a fantastic variation. Nothing with peanut butter in it can be bad, either!

    Reply
  2. ok first I really want to know what the thing you’re working on is and second I’m adding these to the menu for next week (bc I haven’t had enought Thai things recently)

    Reply
    • I’ll be spilling the beans as soon as it’s complete 🙂 hoping that will be before June. I’m sure there will be some sneaks, though! I am so excited to hear about your trip! I need to pick your brain…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

