RSS Feed

Getting Ready for Christmas in Charlottesville

Can you believe Christmas is in exactly one week? Where did time go? I just barely finished my Christmas shopping, which is pretty much a miracle it happened this far in advance. Little by little, I’m starting to get in the Christmas spirit.

Just last week I shared with you that I’d be heading across the country for Christmas. I’m starting to think all of my Christmases will be spent traveling far from home, as last year I ventured to New York and London before settling down in Paris for Christmas. Ooh, next year in somewhere tropical is sounding pretty delicious right now..

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/fc8/32723817/files/2014/12/img_9799.jpg

Meet Tony Danza, our really sad Christmas tree.

But, this year will be spent in Charlottesville, VA where the average high during my stay will be a chilly and rainy 46 F. Not quite tropical, but I’m still very excited! I’ve never been to Charlottesville, but from everything Chef tells me, I think I’ll love it. And after looking at the Visit Charlottesville site, I’m pretty happy to see they share my priorities (see their whole page dedicated to Vineyards, Breweries and Cideries in the area)! I think we’ll get along just fine, Charlottesville.

As to be expected with me heading to a new place, I’m slightly freaking out about what to pack. I think most of the panic is because fitting everything into a carry-on suitcase leaves me very limited in my outfit options. And I’m no fashion diva–seriously– I just like options (and change my mind frequently). Ask Chef–when deciding on a restaurant for dinner, the poor guy has to give me three options just to figure out where I want to eat. He’s so good about that. Anyway, I’m thankful that we decided to order all of our gifts online and ship them to Chef’s mom’s house, so I don’t have to worry about losing any precious packing space. This is probably for the best, as it’s supposed to be straight frigid in Charlottesville while we’re there (though it doesn’t appear we’ll have a white Christmas), which means I’ll be packing on the layers!

So to ease my packing anxiety a bit, I’ve rounded up two outfit muse boards, if you will. One is envisioned for a very casual day exploring Charlottesville and beer drinking with some of Chef’s friends who are also home for the holidays. The other is a bit more Christmasy because sparkles and holiday cheer.

Christmas in Charlottesville: Casual Exploring
Christmas in Charlottesville: Casual Exploring by innatsshoes
Christmas in Charlottesville: Festive Outfit
Christmas in Charlottesville: Festive Outfit by innatsshoes

 

Fingers crossed that this reins in my incessant over-packing. Who am I kidding? But at least it will give me a more focused idea of what to pack. One thing I won’t have to worry about is which of my favorite perfumes I’ll need to pack because the ladies over at Lazy Travelers (+ Pinrose Scents) took care of that for me! A few weeks ago, the romantic and the wino had a giveaway and I won a set of Petal Packs! WOO HOO! Pinrose shipped my awesome travel-sized prize super quickly and I received them in time to take on my trip. Pinrose and their Petal Packs have been spotted on Refinery 29 among other fabulous sites and magazines, and are absolutely perfect for travel. I can’t wait to try them out!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/fc8/32723817/files/2014/12/img_9798.jpgSee, I’m feeling better about this already. I’ll be packing later tonight, which is sure to cause another freak out, but I’m trying to focus on how much fun we’ll be having in Virginia. So for all of you who have been to Charlottesville or have just heard of awesome things to do during the holidays, send your tips my way! And be sure to follow me on Twitter and Instagram to join in on my adventures next week!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Orangery, a Proper Afternoon Tea in London | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

