RSS Feed

Getting Ready for Puerto Vallarta

I can’t believe how quickly time has passed! Weeks ago, I’d been planning on doing a post about the super awesome vacation Chef and I have planned. And now, we’re less than a week days away from our trip to Puerto Vallarta! I’ve been trying to remember all of the cool things to do in Puerto Vallarta, but I haven’t been to PV since I was a senior in high school and, honestly, a lot of the trip is a blur. Thanks for that, Señor Frogs.

Thankfully, Chef and I have so researched many delightful ideas for what we might do: surfing, pool-lounging with trashy celebrity/food/fashion/life magazines in hand, cocktail-sipping beach-side, stuffing our faces during food tours, cruises, ATV tours.. But nothing is firmly scheduled. Yes, we have a bunch of great ideas for our deliciously long getaway from the States.

Yes, lots of these will be happening. Photo via Cote Writes

Yet, I feel so unprepared. I keep harassing asking Chef all of the questions bouncing around in my head: How are we getting to the airport (parking at SFO is so expensive!)?! What if the security line takes too long!? Will I fit into my summer/warm weather clothes (just last week I started prepping for winter hibernation made both the Pioneer Woman’s Pot Pie and Tasty Kitchen’s White Cheese & Chicken Lasagna)?! Should we book our tours now?! What will I pack!?

swear I’m not complaining about going on vacation– I just always get pre-trip jitters. Recently, I read a post called An Anxious Traveler by Ashley of Sugar & Cloth and it totally resonated with me. I always ride an emotional roller coaster when it comes to travel: booking my trip = excitement!!! arriving at my destination = adventurous bliss!!!!! but the period in between = worrying! It’s lame.

I find that one way to quell any worries is to do a pre-trip packing sesh. Since most of my week in Puerto Vallarta will be spent lounging on the beach or poolside (with a fru-fru cocktail, obvi), I am determined to pack everything into a carry-on. I mean, if I can survive in a carry-on for 3 weeks in Europe during winter, I’m sure I’ll be fine. But while I plan on getting my (heavily sunscreened) tan on for most of the week, Chef also wants to head up to Sayulita for some surfing and exploring one day. So, I’ve come up with two outfits to be my inspiration for a week’s worth of packing. I’ll introduce you to Beach Day and Adventure Day outfits:

Puerto Vallarta: Beach Day
Puerto Vallarta: Beach Day by innatsshoes featuring a leather wristlet
Oh and sunscreen. Lots of sunscreen for this pale girl. It’s been my experience that beach excursions can quickly turn into “let’s go to the bar/restaurant and grab a drink” excursions. So, a very beach- and bar-friendly dress will do the trick when paired with a glossy red lip, some fun earrings and a wristlet to hold the necessities required to pay for those drinks.
Puerto Vallarta: Adventure Day
Puerto Vallarta: Adventure Day by innatsshoes featuring a gold initial necklace

While it’s supposed to be slightly thunderstormy during our stay, we won’t let the rain dampen our spirits! My hat will keep my hair from getting too frizzy. Right? And I’m loving cross-body bags to keep my hands free for all of the street food I’ll be shoving in my face.

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I’ll be living in my swim suit and Rainbows all week long! I’m also planning on bringing mix and match clothes so that I don’t have to bring as many individual outfits. Although, I’ll likely *gasp* wear the same swim cover up day after day, unless we venture far from the beach during adventure day(s). Be sure to check out my Polyvore sets if you’re interested in learning about any of the items shown above.

We’re still perusing travel blogs and researching options for tips and tours. I am so looking into Vallarta Food Tours as recommended by Lance of Trips by Lance! Suggestions are very welcomed, if you have any! After all, it’s been nearly a decade (ew) since my last visit to Puerto Vallarta and my memory is not that good.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. I’m so jealous!!! Have an awesome trip!!!

    Reply
  2. I’m trying to head to somewhere “beachy” this summer, and Puerto Vallarta is on my possibilities list! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about your trip! Have fun!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

