RSS Feed

Let Me Upgrade You: German Chocolate Bars

It’s been quite the week and I want a plate full of everything bad-for-you in front of me! Okay, I shouldn’t complain because it’s my second 4-day week in a row. Don’t hate. But, sometimes I just crave something gooey and chocolatey. Like, I’m tempted to grab a jar of chocolate fudge sauce or eat raw brownie batter. Let’s be real, you do too. When that happens, I usually make these German Chocolate Bars.

20140227-130943.jpg
Killer looking, right? Gahhh.

20140226-120247.jpg

This recipe is seriously so freaking easy, requires only 5 (yes FIVE) ingredients, and tastes delightful. Unless you don’t like coconut.. ahem, Chef. What’s nice about these German chocolate bars is that they are a total boxed cake mix upgrade! So if you have German chocolate cake mix and coconut pecan frosting on hand, you won’t even have to go to the store.

20140226-120253.jpg

I originally found this recipe for German Chocolate Brownies on AllRecipes forever ago. I’ve been using it for a quick dessert option for holiday parties, work functions, and just being gluttonous. The only thing I really changed (besides the name–I feel like these are bars not brownies!) was upping the chocolate chips to a whole bag. Sorry not sorry.

20140226-120259.jpg

Let’s just ignore my kitty slippers that make an appearance in this photo. For the record, Betsey would be super impressed with this. And if you don’t what I’m talking about, peep the Insta #betseyisnotimpressed20140226-120309.jpg

The key to this recipe being all sorts of caramelized goodness is layering. My view is that more layers = better. 20140227-161513.jpg

Look at all those layers. The outcome makes you forget that you have to bake this thing twice. And then they all bake together. Drool.

20140226-120344.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 box German chocolate cake mix
  • 2/3 cup cold butter (I like to chop this into small chunks, to make step 1 easier)
  • 1 bag semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 container coconut pecan frosting
  • 1/4 cup milk

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F and grease a 13″x9″ baking pan.
  2. Place cake mix in a bowl; using a pastry cutter or fork, cut in butter until mixture is crumbly. Press 2 1/2 cups into the greased baking pan. Bake for 10 minutes.
  3. After pulling the crust out, immediately sprinkle chocolate chips over the top. Drop frosting by the tablespoonfuls over the chips.
  4. Stir milk into remaining crumb mixture; drop by teaspoonfuls over the top of the frosting. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until bubbly around the edges and the top is cracked.
  5. Cool on a wire rack for about 20 minutes. Refrigerate for 4 hours before cutting into bars.

Makes approximately 32 bars.

20140226-120412.jpg

I’ve “messed up” with this recipe a handful of times– including one time when I forgot the chocolate chips until I had almost used up the milk/crumb mixture, then added another layer of chocolate chips and milk/crumb mixture– and still had this recipe be fawned over by co-workers. Very, very difficult to fail at this recipe!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

7 responses »

  1. I die! You’re killin’ me woman. I’ve been so good! I haven’t had dessert all week (and that’s a lot for me!). I’m totally the person who usually eats handfuls of chocolate chips on a daily basis.

    P.S. I’m crossing my fingers that “Let Me Upgrade You” is a reference to Beyonce.

    Reply
  2. Oh, wow, these look incredible!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

