RSS Feed

October Foodie Pen Pals

HAPPY HALLOWEEN! Later this evening, I will be dressed up in either a flapper costume and consuming tasty cocktails or in pjs and sleeping– I haven’t quite decided yet. One thing is certain though, Johanna sent me an absolutely fabulous Foodie Pen Pals box earlier this month!

20131021-083814.jpg

Let’s look at this adorable and food-related card, shall we?

20131021-083822.jpg

And of course, the spread of goodies I received:

20131021-083838.jpg

Girlfriend sent me my new favorite chocolate bar. Jeez Louise this Toblerone crunchy salted almond bar is tasty. I absolutely ate it in one, stressed-out sitting.

20131021-083847.jpg

Homemade peanut brittle! Yum!

20131021-083856.jpg

These little buggers caught me by complete surprise. The box made me think they’d be awful kid-treats that adult me would hate. (Helloooo Warheads..) OMG! These are like Pepperidge Farm Milano cookies but bite-sized and better.

20131021-083909.jpg

I always see all sorts of hype abotu apple butter. I suppose I never really got it because I’d never had apple butter before. Holy hell this stuff is good! I’ve been enjoying it for breaky on buttered toast as of late.

20131021-083918.jpg

Next on Johanna’s list of fabulousness to send me were these bad boys. Crispy, spicy, salty, and a hint of sweet. Definitely reminded me of my childhood snacks at daycare.

20131021-083927.jpg

I was quite happy to see more Asian food influence in my FPP box. Last night, I was having a serious craving for Thai food. But since Napa is seriously lacking in the Thai food department, I decided to experiment at home using this satay sauce and some brown rice noodles, along with chicken and veggies. Totally satisfied!

20131021-083936.jpg

Because Johanna rocks, she made me two things from scratch! This Jalapeno Cheddar Beer Bread (spicy and tasty!) and..

20131021-083944.jpg

These zucchini granola bars. The bars were great as a quick breakfast option for when I was in a rush to head to work.

20131021-083953.jpg

I was so happy with everything I got in the package Johanna sent me. She clearly put a lot of time and effort into picking things out that I’d like and even making me things from scratch. This was definitely one of the most thoughtful boxes I’ve received so far. While I’d love to give a shout out to her blog, she doesn’t have one– womp womp.

If you’re interested in joining in on the fun of Foodie Pen Pals, here’s a link to Lindsay’s blog The Lean Green Bean with more information. Make sure you sign up by the 4th of each month. Oh, and here‘s where you can reminisce with me about my past FPP packages. You know you want to.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

