RSS Feed

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2013

You all know how much I love getting stuff in the mail. I love it so much that I’ve participated in Foodie Pen Pals for over a year! I also think that my love for baking is fairly apparent.

I was perusing recipes one day, and became pretty curious when I saw a badge on the footer of The Little Ferraro Kitchen that said The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2012. I mean, what was Ms. Samantha up to last year?! Obviously, I clicked on it and it took me to a site that was reminiscent of Lindsay’s Foodie Pen PalsSpeaking of which, I’ve gotta sign up for that by November 4th!

fbcookieswap2013_white

If you want to know what this is all about, read on..

As pulled from their website, and lightly summarized, here’s the 4-1-1:

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap (GFBCS) brings together food bloggers from around the world in celebration of all things scrumptious. The premise is as follows: Sign up. Receive the addresses of three other food bloggers. Send each of them one-dozen tasty, homemade cookies. Receive three different boxes of one-dozen tasty, homemade cookies from other bloggers. Eat them all yourself/Share them/Regift them/Do with them as you will. Post your cookie recipe on your blog. See everyone else’s cookie recipes and bake lots of goodness during a time when the weather’s kinda crappy.

This year the GFBCS powers that be are partnering with Cookies for Kids’ Cancer (CFKC). Click their link to see what loveliness they’re doing.

Here’s how you can join in on the fun:

  1. SIGN UP. Fill out the sign-up form on the GFBCS site to participate. Be sure you meet the basic requirements for participation (on their site). Complete this by 11/4/13.
  2. DONATE. Once you complete the sign-up form, you will be re-directed to PayPal to make a $4.00 tax-deductible donation directly to Cookies for Kids’ Cancer. 100% of this donation goes directly to CFKC. It is required that you complete this payment to participate in the swap (Why does GFBCS require this?) Once your payment is approved you will receive an email confirming your donation and your participation in GFBCS 2013.
  3. MATCH. On 11/11/13, you will receive the names and addresses of three other food bloggers from the GFBCS gods. These are the people to whom you will be sending cookies! It’s important you keep these matches a secret until they receive your cookies.
  4. BAKE & SHIP. Bake a batch of delicious cookies. Photograph your cookies. Now ship one dozen to each of your three matches by the shipment deadline (12/2/13).
  5. POST. Post your cookie recipe on your blog and submit the post along with an image (that one you remembered to take before mailing them off) on 12/11/13. GFBCS will then collect and compile all participants’ posts and publish them in one huge roundup!

Keep in mind that there are other requirements, as listed on their site. But it sounds like easy peasy fun! I’ve already signed up, and can’t wait to find out who I’ll be sending cookies to.

Doesn’t this sound like delicious fun? Will you join me, pretty please? Let me know if you do sign up! And now I have to find a recipe to bake..

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Oh, I really want to join in the cookie fun but I don’t think my cookies would make it in time from Brazil… 😦

    Natalia

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Caramel Apple Oatmeal Cookies | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

