RSS Feed

Strawberry Cakes Forever

While perusing through the photos for this post, Strawberry Fields Forever kept running through my head. And no, not the whole song. Just that cheesy part that’s all drawn out, “strawberry fields foreeeverrr”. Thanks John Lennon.

Anyway, I don’t want strawberry fields forever– I want strawberry cakes forever. With a cup of coffee or a mimosa. Preferably in some quaint little cafe in Paris or fabulous coffee shop in New York, now that I’ve booked the first flight of my winter travel adventure (So. Much. Excitement. NYC here I come!) Onward to the most delicious and fairly easy recipe by the lovely Sommer Collier of A Spicy Perspective.

20130719-072038.jpg

Oui oui, more cake, merci!

I had a bunch of strawberries that were trying their best to go bad before I could use them. I showed them a thing or two– or rather my lovely roommate, Shaylyn, did– after they were sliced and diced into submission. I folded them into the most delicious cake batter ever —did I just admit to eating raw batter?! be an adult and don’t follow my lead– and made this delicious Fresh Strawberry and Yogurt Cake

Per usual, I didn’t follow the directions to a T, so the recipe below is what I put into my cake, not what Sommer has listed in her recipe at the link above. 

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
3 Tb. lemon juice, divided
Zest of 1 medium lemon
2 ½ cups all-purpose flour, divided
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
2 5.3 oz. Oikos Greek vanilla yogurt cups
2 cups fresh strawberries, diced
1 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F. Grease and flour a 10 inch bundt pan (10-15 cup pan.) In a medium bowl, sift together the 2 ¼ cups of flour, baking soda and salt. Mix in the lemon zest and set aside.
  2. Using an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar together until fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice. Alternate beating in the flour mixture and the yogurt, mixing just until incorporated.
  3. Toss the strawberries with the remaining ¼ cup of flour. Gently stir them into the batter.
  4. Pour the batter into the bundt pan. Place in the oven and reduce the temperature to 325 F. Bake for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.
  5. Cool at least 20 minutes in the pan, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely. Once cooled whisk together the remaining 2 Tablespoons of lemon juice and the powdered sugar. Drizzle over the top of the cake.

Makes approximately 25 slices.

20130719-071419.jpg

I floured and buttered the heck out of this bundt pan.

20130719-071449.jpg

My FAVORITE rubber spatch.

20130719-070329.jpg

Butter + sugar + yogurt.

20130719-071428.jpg

Lots of zest!

20130719-071611.jpg

20130719-071726.jpg

This is where it starts getting super tasty.

20130719-071754.jpg

Kinda gross looking..

20130719-071839.jpg

Man. Oh, Man.

20130719-071945.jpg

Heaven in a bundt pan. Gahhh.

20130719-072002.jpg

Let this beaut cool for a bit.

20130719-072033.jpg

Glazed to perfection.

A few things to note: I sliced my cake fairly thin, and was rewarded with about 25 slices compared to Sommer’s 12 slices. I also highly recommend using fresh lemon juice. I used bottled and was grossed out by the flavor of the glaze. So, I ended up adding a little fresh lemon juice to freshen things up. I also think that adding a layer of fresh strawbs to the top of the cake (before baking) would make it that much better– I’ll report back!

This cake was so delicious, that I may or may not have had two pieces for breaky before bringing it into work. I had to get it out of the house. Oh, and then it disappeared within an hour at work. Perhaps raccoons came in and stole it. But I’m leaning toward the fact that it was so tasty, people snatched it up. So thank you to Ms. Sommer– you’ve outdone yourself with this one!

20130719-072043.jpg

Perhaps these were the two I ate. I’ll never tell.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Unhealthy Chocolate Chip Coconut Banana Bread | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

