RSS Feed

June Foodie Pen Pals

June was such a lovely–albeit crazy– month! I celebrated my birthday week, booked airfare for two trips to one of my favorite cities (Portland!) and lodging for one loonnng trip to a *soon to be* favorite city (Paris!). Over the weekend, my roommate and I hosted a housewarming party (pics and a menu coming sooooon!), which has taken up all of my spare time, resulting in a very tardy to the party Foodie Pen Pals post! Yes, I went there. So, without further ado, let’s take a gander at what the lovely (but sadly, blog- and Twitter-less) Denise of the Philadelphia area sent me in this month’s edition of Foodie Pen Pals!

20130626-145741.jpg

Oh. Man. Ms. Denise informed me that she perused this lovely little blog for ideas on what to send my way. She did so. good. I know that all of my Thai food-related posts have FINALLY paid off when my fellow Foodie Pen Pals regularly send me Thai food fixin’s! She also included the sweetest note–I could not be more ecstatic about this month’s box!

20130626-145753.jpg

Fish sauce is something that I tend to throw on my Hula’s bowl, but have never used it when cooking at home. New goal: use this and make delicious things!

20130626-145805.jpg

What’s a box full of Thai food items without curry? Nothing, I tell you. Nothing. I cannot wait to make this for a quick meal when I don’t really feel like cooking.

20130626-145817.jpg

Mmmm.. Coconut milk! I’ve seen so many recipes lately that use coconut milk, from appetizers to desserts! I’m already scheming as to what I’ll make.

20130626-145825.jpg

Jasmine rice is obviously another staple when cooking Thai food.

20130626-145833.jpg

And there was this little gem. Chocolate + raspberries? De-freaking-lish! My waistline isn’t thanking Denise, but my taste buds certainly are.

20130626-145841.jpg

Thank you, thank you, thank you to Ms. Denise in or around the Philadelphia area! My box this month was a treat. If any of you are interested in joining The Lean Green Bean‘s (aka Lindsay!) Food Pen Pals program, here’s what you need to know:

  • You must sign up for the program by the 4th of each month– if you don’t sign up each month, you won’t be included for that month.
  • On the 5th of every month, you will receive your pen pal pairing via email. It’s all on you to contact your pen pal to get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
  • You will have until the 15th of the month to mail your goodies to your pen pal. On the last day of the month, you will post about what you received from your pen pal! Note: the person you send to is different from who you receive a package from!
  • The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe–use your imagination!

You can read all of Lindsay’s official rules by clicking here.

And because we all know that Tardy for the Party is now stuck in your head, here’s the offish video, straight from BravoTV. You’re welcome/I’m sorry. P.S. are you following me on Twitter yet? Let me make this painless for you to remedy this: click here.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Caprese Skewers | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

