RSS Feed

Two Days in Prague: What to Do

Tuesdays can be good things. Taco Tuesdays, Travel Tuesdays, Martini Tuesdays.. All good things. This Tuesday is a Travel Tuesday sort of day. The lovely ladies at The Lazy Travelers + the Hubs will soon be in one of my favorite cities in the world: Prague. I’ve written about some of my favorite memories of Prague and where to eat in Prague, but I wanted to be a bit more specific for this trio. They’ll only in Prague for a couple of days, so I told them I’d give them my “must dos” and throw in some extras , in case they manage to wind up with some more time!

Food

  • Pivovarský Klub (peevo-varskee kloob)- Believe it or not, I actually lived above this place for 4 months. So I’ll be honest and say that I’m a little biased in recommending it to the everyone who asks about Prague. However, the food actually is really, really good and authentic Czech! Pivo actually means beer in Czech, so I’ll assume you can figure out what pivovarský means. They offer a minimum of 240 kinds of bottled beer from around the world (Chico, CA’s own Sierra Nevada included!) and they always have 6 beers on tap, all, with the exception of their fabulous – and my favorite-number 5, are changed weekly. They serve “traditional homey Czech cuisine,” along with a variety of chicken, turkey, pork, and ostrich options. The street level is a bar and sort of beer store and downstairs is the restaurant/pub; however, food is served on both levels. If you see a bald man who looks like Mr. Clean (see below), be sure to him that Natalie who used to live upstairs says “Hi Lucas!”. The Pivovarský Klub is located in Prague 8, right around the corner from the Florenc stop on the red line. If you like it, you can visit the “mother” restaurant, Pivovarský Dum, located near the I. P. Pavlova stop on the red line. It’s also a short trip walking from Old Town.
162653_1697048179931_3728300_n

If you’re nice to Lucas, he’ll let you pour your own beer!

  • Dobrá Čajovna (dohbrah chai-ohvna)- is a tea room tucked away down an alleyway off of Wenceslas Square in Prague 1 (look for the entryway shown in the picture below!). I think there’s another location, but I like this one. Not only do they speak English, you can buy delicious loose leaf tea to go. I really recommend sitting down, having a pot of tea (they have a ton of tea listed in their tea book) and trying out their hummus plate. Best hummus and pita I’ve ever eaten! It’s a very low-key, off the beaten path sort of place. Not touristy at all!

39595_10150306211470005_307515_n

  •  If you’re in an absolute rush, you really can’t go wrong with a sausage from one of the street vendors. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve eaten a #10 (they’re pretty much all the same menus).

Attractions

  • Astronomical Clock – This is pretty much a given! You can take an elevator up to the top and see the most amazing 360 degree views of Prague. On the hour, every hour, a trumpet player plays a tune. Located in Old Town Square, and very hard to miss.

63821_10150260281695005_1672913_n

  • Charles Bridge – another given. Even if you’re only able to walk across it, you’ll enjoy the views of Prague Castle, the Vltava River, and amazing statues depicting various saints and important Czech people. Tons of vendors line the walkway and sell some pretty cool trinkets, artwork, and crafts.

If you have extra time:

  • Vyšehrad Castle – (veesheerahd) Accessible by way of the Vyšehrad metro and walking a half mile or so. The Basilica of St. Peter and St. Paul is there, as well as the Vyšehrad Cemetery (full of Czech “celebrities” including Antonín Dvořák and Alphonse Mucha).
  • Old Jewish Cemetery – A very cool trip back in history. There’s a quick tour you can take where you learn about the Jewish Quarter and the culture that Jewish Czechs created during a time they were severely oppressed. Located a short walk from the Four Seasons Prague or walk to tram 26 and then walk a bit, or walk to Můstek (moosteck) and take the green line to Staroměstská (staromneystkah).
  • Dancing House – It won’t take you but a moment to walk by and admire the interesting and controversial building (some say it’s much too modern for Prague’s rich and historical architecture). There’s a restaurant and bar at the top of the building, but was much too pricey for my college-student-abroad budget (read: we bought what locals called “homeless wine”). I’m sure the views are lovely, though.

Dancing House

  • If you need to go dancing, head to Karlovy Lázně—what everyone calls Five Story. Literally five levels of dancing with different music on each level. There’s nominal cover charge and an optional coat check.

Extra notes:

  • You really can’t go wrong with any beer you find in Prague.
  • If you can find it, I highly recommend you try burčák (burcheck), a type of effervescent wine typically made in the Moravia region in CZ.
  • Becherovka is special to people in CZ—as Czech Jan Becher created it. It’s an herbal liqueur (similar to fernet) and tastes kind of like what I think Christmas might taste like. Czech fernet is also – in my opinion—better than its Italian counterpart. Try the citrus fernet, too!
  • The guláš (goulash) is amazing! Also try svíčková (svitchkovah), marinated pork with gravy. I crave it all the time! And when you get back to NYC, you must try this restaurant in Queens— it will help with your addiction to Czech food.
  • The metro and trams are very efficient in Prague. Be very sure to purchase a pass when using either—transportation police are absolute sticklers and will charge you a very hefty fine if they catch you without a valid pass. And that’s beer and svíčková money wasted.
  • Should you forget anything there are a few Tesco department stores. Similar to a Macy’s-Nordstrom-Target-grocery store hybrid, you can pretty much find anything you need here.
  • I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but there is extremely cheap wine (the “homeless wine” mentioned above) available at the smaller grocery stores. Billa has the cheapest box wine. It comes in liter-sized boxes and costs less than $1 for a liter. I can only recommend the white, and it has to be ice-cold. Note/bribe: If you send me a box of it, I will bake you whatever you want. You could probably strong-arm me negotiate for many, many baked goods…

Finally, if you are able to get out of the city before or after your two-night/day stay, I highly recommend venturing to Český Krumlov (chesky kroomlov). It’s just under three hours via Student Agency bus ride from Prague. Let me know if you’re able to make it out there, and I’ll post some info about it. I hope you guys have a safe and fabulous time in Prague! I’m very excited to read about your adventures and live vicariously through your time in Prague.

Anyone who is not familiar with The Lazy Travelers needs to hop on over to their blog, Twitter, Facebook page and Tumblr asap! These besties (and the Hubs) are hilarious, totally real, and enviably well-traveled. You won’t regret following them on their adventures!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. uhhhh this is amazing. mostly because it alerted me to the fact that it’s taco tuesday (HOW DID I NOT KNOW THAT WAS A THING) but also because i want to do everything! can we really do it all in two days?!?!?! overwhelmed.

    Reply
    • Maybe it’s a California thing? Many places offer $1 tacos or taco plate specials and beers are always discounted. I assumed everywhere had this! I think you can! Many of the places are very close to each other. Pivo (and almost more importantly, Lucas) is within walking distance to Old Town which is walkable to Dobrá Čajovna (which is literally down an alley off Wenceslas Square), and isn’t far from the Astrological Clock. Lots of walking to do to burn off all that pivo and guláš 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Two Years of Adventuring | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

