RSS Feed

Let Me Upgrade You: Peanut Butter Cupcakes

This week has been one of those weeks. While fun and exciting things have happened, they’ve left me exhausted and begging for a nap. Don’t judge me, naps are amazing. And this week isn’t over yet! I still have to build my Ikea dresser — a task that Shaylyn said will take me at least three hours, awesome— try my hand at selling pizzas, and spend all weekend with my friends wine tasting for birthday month. I know, rough life. However, in the midst of all the crazy going on in my life right now, I wanted to share something quite fabulous with you.

As you’re well aware, I’ve never been shy about my love for peanut butter and chocolate. One time, I ate five Reese’s peanut butter Easter eggs. Back to back to back to back to back. I’m pretty sure I only stopped because I ran out of them. Obvi they’re my favorite.

It should come as no surprise that I was really, really upset on Easter when the Easter bunny didn’t bring my any of my favorite concoctions to nosh on all day. I decided to get creative that fateful Sunday afternoon– I invented the easiest peanut butter cupcakes. Ever. And then I made the easiest chocolate peanut butter frosting ever.

20130606-111749.jpg

Yeah. Even I get mad at me.

20130516-165112.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Butter Recipe Yellow cake mix
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup water
  • ~1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 can whipped chocolate frosting (both milk or dark are delish!)
  • ~3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 F.
  2. In a large bowl, mix cake mix, eggs, water, and 1/2 cup of peanut butter until combined. If you’re up to taste raw batter (read: raw eggs), test to see if you want more peanut butter flavor. I liked mine to be more subtle in the cupcakes.
  3. Line cupcake tin with liners. Spoon approximately 1/3 cup batter into lined tins (or about 1 Tablespoon for mini cupcakes).
  4. Bake for approximately 9 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  5. In a medium bowl, mix can of frosting and 3/4 cup peanut butter until well combined. Since there’s no raw eggs in this, feel free to try this by the spoonful. Add more peanut butter if desired.
  6. Once the cupcakes have cooled completely, frost away!
  7. Any remaining frosting should be used on any of the following: peanut butter sandwiches, fruit, Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate-Covered Pretzel Slims, in place of a chocolate bar on a s’more.. You get the idea.
20130516-165125.jpg

Not at all appealing.. But it will taste good.

20130516-165143.jpg

I like to taste the batter to make sure I’ve put enough peanut butter in. Remember that there are raw eggs in the batter, so use your own judgement on consuming raw eggs.

20130516-165156.jpg

I had a small bit of batter left over, so I made six mini cupcakes.

20130516-165209.jpg

Frosting time!

20130516-165220.jpg

All done. Now dig in!

Guys, don’t skimp on step 7. It’s really, really important. You can always mail it to me if you are at a loss of what to do with it, too.

I just love “upgrade” recipes. Not only do they save time, but they also allow for many variations. I highly recommend this ramen upgrade, if you haven’t already seen it. Do you have any “upgrade” recipes you rely on?

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

