RSS Feed

May Foodie Pen Pals

Happy Friday, y’all! I’ve had a very busy and exciting past few days. Most noteworthy is that I’m moving into a new apartment that happened to be my first choice of all apartment options! I’m quite happy to be living with one of my best friends and enjoying the fabulous fireplace– I’ve never had one before– and two bathrooms. Such a luxury for two chicks!

This month, I received a package from Elena at The Sweetness of Joy. Elena is on a mission to document her journey to conquer her sweet tooth and enjoy the sweet things that life has to offer, and often blogs about health and fitness– something we could all use, am I riiiiiiight? I think Ms. Elena must have done some research on me, because she KILLED IT with the goodies she sent me! I could tell right away that a lot of thought was put into what she picked out for me (heaps of peanut butter and chocolate items!), and I totally appreciate it.

20130520-122210.jpg

Just look at all of the lovely stuff Elena picked out for me!

20130520-122219.jpg

I’m not sure whether Elena read about what I was sent in January’s Foodie Pen Pal box or not, but I’m going to guess she did. The Chocolove Raspberries in Dark Chocolate is one of my favorite chocolate bars! I love that there’s a poem inside and pink is one of my favorite colors– SOLD!

20130520-122225.jpg

I’ve been a fan of Justin’s peanut butter blends since my first experience with them in a Starbuck’s protein pack, and then Mellissa sent me some different flavored packs in January. I love keeping these in my desk at work, in case I need a quick snack to pair with some apples or crackers.

20130520-122232.jpg

My interest was piqued when I saw this pack of Somersault Snacks. After reading the front, I was a still a little unsure of what I would get once I opened the pack. Let me just say that these things are delicious! I was totally full after eating the pack and stayed full for quite a while. The cinnamon and sunflower seed taste was scrumptious!

20130520-122237.jpg

Before I even touch on the photo below (and my absolute favorite thing Elena sent me), I need to ask– hell, BEG– Elena for the recipe. Pretty, pretty please? I’ll bake you whatever you desire and mail it to you asap!

Okay, I’m done. Organic kettle corn that’s HOMEMADE?! It’s heaven. I tasted a slight coconut flavor, with vanilla and what I guessed to be marshmallow? I don’t know if any of that makes sense, but I want more and I need it now.

20130520-122243.jpg

Elena must have read about my ginormous love of Thai food in my March Foodie Pen Pals post, or when I announced my love affair with Thai food because she sent me these very, very interesting peanuts. I saw they’re interesting because after my first trial, I hated them. I gave them another go, and sort of liked them. By the third tasting, it was hard to put them down! They have a very distinct lemongrass flavor, with a hint of curry.

20130520-122250.jpg

I had absolutely no idea what the heck this was when I opened my box. Was it like work out protein powder? Or like peanut butter chocolate milk mix? Or some sort of baking flour? The directions (pictured below) were of no help to someone who didn’t even know what she was preparing. So I googled it. How very 21st century of me, I know. I stumbled upon the recipes section, and I was floored! Everything sounded so delicious and most of the recipes were really quite easy. However, don’t attempt my “make up a recipe as you go” technique, detailed here.

20130520-122459.jpgI was so delighted with the items Elena chose to send me! And seriously, girl, I need that recipe! You can follow Elena’s blog at The Sweetness of Joy or her Twitter @joirunr. Maybe you can convince her to mail you some of that delish kettle corn?

Per usual, here’s a brief description of the Foodie Pen Pals program, organized by the lovely Lindsay at  The Lean Green Bean:

  • You must sign up for the program by the 4th of each month– if you don’t sign up each month, you won’t be included for that month.
  • On the 5th of every month, you will receive your pen pal pairing via email. It’s all on you to contact your pen pal to get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
  • You will have until the 15th of the month to mail your goodies to your pen pal. On the last day of the month, you will post about what you received from your pen pal! Note: the person you send to is different from who you receive a package from!
  • The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe–use your imagination!

You can read all of Lindsay’s official rules by clicking here.

I hope you consider joining, it’s heaps of fun!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

