RSS Feed

April Foodie Pen Pals

Ay, ay, ay!  Coachella, Miami, and a work event over consecutive weekends makes for a very swamped Natalie! I swear I’ll get to posting about my aforementioned trips. But today, I write about food. I know, you’re shocked.

This month’s Food Pen Pals post is very baking-y. Go ahead, say that out loud: baking-y.

Melissa from Cupcake Friday Project is a magazine editor by day, but is slowly working on teaching herself all things pastry in the hopes of owning her own bakery cafe someday. Swoooooon! I could totally be a drop in chef at her bakery. Right? She also loves sending homemade gifts, and aside from baking, she makes her own jams. Can we be best friends?

I received her box the day I arrived home from Coachella. And I was thinking my weekend wouldn’t get any better– fooled me!

20130423-162105.jpg

20130423-162117.jpg

Isn’t that note card just the cutest? I have a serious problem collecting stationery. 20130423-162128.jpg

While I’m not typically a fan of blueberries, I do adore them in dried form for granola and yogurt. I’m not sure why.. perhaps it has to do with how thick the skin is. Anyway, I have been topping my Greek yogurt with some of these tasty little guys!

20130423-162138.jpg

Now let’s discuss this amazing little jar of goodness. I’ve been a fan of rhubarb for only a few years. And I’ve never really had it on its own– only with strawberries in pie. Lavender is high on my list of likes, but usually for beauty/relaxation purposes. The two come together to form a delectable little partnership in this jam! I tried it on wheat toast and am extremely interested in tasting it on cinnamon raisin toast. Mel noted that it was made by a local canner and cookbook author named Marisa. Click the link to check out Marisa’s site Food in Jars.

20130423-162147.jpg

Always a fan of nuts, I was very happy to receive some homemade Chinese five spice candied pecans from Mel! The sweet and spicy combo had me craving more and I was so happy to receive something made from scratch. Now if I could get the recipe…

20130423-162157.jpg

I was quite curious to see what was in the bag labeled “choco glazed fruits”. Were they all the same kind of fruit? Could they be a hodge podge of fruit mixed together and melded by chocolate? I was drooling at every new idea I came up with.

20130423-162215.jpg

I told Melissa that I love chocolate, raspberry, and apricot anything and look what was in that bag: dark chocolate covered apricots. The apricots were absolutely massive! Seriously, like the size of a kiwi! I have since enjoyed all of them and am quite tempted to make my own.

20130423-162223.jpg

For any Foodie Pen Pal newbs, here’s a brief breakdown of how the program works:

  • Sign up to participate by the 4th of each month here
  • Once you are made aware of who you will be mailing a package to, contact them and ask for any dietary restrictions or preferences
  • Collect a sampling local foods, favorite foods, or whatever, and stick to the $15 limit, and don’t forget a quick note to your pen pal!
  • Ship your package (make sure it’s packed well!)  to the person Lindsay paired you with.
  • If you are a blogger, or even just a willing reader, provide a guest post to be posted on reveal day (typically the 30th or 1st of each month)!

If you’re curious about what I sent to Dallas, visit her blog and check out her reveal day post here!

Here are some links to my previous FPP posts from March, January, and my very first FPP experience: September.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

