RSS Feed

March Foodie Pen Pals

Monday. Yuck. I may or may not need to devour one of those tasty peanut butter cupcakes with decadent chocolate peanut butter ganache in order to get this morning back on track. I do get a little happier and less Monday-ish when I think about the fact that today is:

  • Opening Day for the San Francisco Giants, World Series Champs, I might add
  • The first day of April and not in an April Fools’ sort of way

annnnd..

  • Foodie Pen Pals reveal day!

This month’s Food Pen Pals post is all about two of my favorite things: Thai food and chocolate. Jazzy of Travel Jonez is obviously trying to woo me. I’m not quite sure why, or what she could possibly want in return, but here I am, indebted to her for sending me some of the most delicious things I could ask for.

20130328-140731.jpg

The Chuao honeycomb bar was devoured within an hour after I opened my box. I’ve tried honeycomb before, and I wasn’t too fond of the massive chunks of sugar that made my teeth stick together. This, however, has smaller bits of honeycomb mixed into the delicious dark chocolate. There were no fillings popping out or teeth being glued together. This bar didn’t even stand a chance of lasting a whole day. I’m pretty excited that, according to the Chuao website, I can purchase more of these fabulous bars at Walmart, Cost Plus World Market, and Whole Foods in Napa. Score!

20130328-140810.jpg

The satay peanut sauce brought a smile to my face the second it was pulled out of my box. I LOVE peanut sauce. When I go to Mini Mango, I scrape up every bit of the sauce with my fried tofu. I can’t wait to try to make something to go along with this sauce!

20130328-140745.jpg

Tasty Thai Noodle Meal Kit is a new-to-me product that I will be hunting down in grocery stores asap. On Friday, I came home from work and was trying to make lunch as quickly as possible so that I could change into my bikini and get as much sun as possible before the rain started. I can’t be caught at Coachella in the glow-in-the-dark color that I currently am! I was able to throw this easy and scrumptious peanut satay noodles kit together in about 10 minutes. Yeah, even including stir frying some zukes and frying an egg. I then enjoyed my meal while basking in the sunny California afternoon. Heaven.

20130328-140824.jpg

I was a little confused about what exactly I was supposed to do with the plum wine Jazzy sent me. I wasn’t sure if it was a cooking wine or something I could throw back after a long week at work. Turns out, it’s the latter. I was very impressed that the wine still had the plum in it! I’m excited to try this after one of my many crazy weeks in April.

20130401-083435.jpg

Ms. Jazzy was in a rush, trying to mail out my package before the post office closed, so she was unable to include an explanation of all the items she sent me. But she totally made up for it by sending me the sweetest Paperless Post note that had a thoughtful description of why she chose each item (my most recent admission of being obsessed with Thai food post and my very public chocoholic diagnosis). I loved how she actually researched me a bit before heading to the store to pick up some (fabulous) surprises for me. You all should check out her blog and her Twitter, too!

If you want to see what I sent Kaitlin of California Endless Summer, check out her reveal day post here. And be sure to check out what was sent to me in January, November, and October!

Want to join the foodie fun? Sign up here by April 4th! The spending limit is $15 and you must mail your package by the 15th of the month. Even though April is going to be absolute chaos for me, you know I’ll be signing up again! :)

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. You ate the chocolate within an hour?! Sooo glad you enjoyed your package.

    Reply
    • I loved that bar! I’m really excited/scared for bikini season because I can get them in Napa. Thank you for all of the stuff, I hadn’t had any of the items before!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: April Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Such a great box! I’m excited to try this in June for the first time!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: May Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

