RSS Feed

Getting Ready for WeHo

I’m a fan of Thursdays. They’re the last official work day before Friday. We all know Fridays don’t count as official work days. Sure, the first half of Friday you’re working, but come 1 pm, we’re all thinking about which happy hour we’re going to, or which movie we’re renting from Redbox and what we’re ordering in. Am I right? Duh. Fridays are practically weekend days.

I’m really, really excited about next week and next weekend for two reasons. One, this girl gets to go to San Francisco for a work training during the week (hello super fresh clam chowder, excellent beer–SF Beer Week!, and the joy of being the city by the bay!) where I plan on trying new-to-me restaurants in the City as well has hopefully being able to attend some Beer Week events. The training and my accommodations are in Fisherman’s Wharf, an extremely touristy area, so I’ll be searching for some non-touristy restaurants to stuff my face at. Obvi I’ll report back if anything fabulous turns up. And second, I’ll be flying to Los Angeles to visit Em for a long weekend (thanks, George Washington). Between Em and the interwebs, I’ve been snagging ideas for what to do on my adventure to SoCal.

Em lives in WeHo (aka West Hollywood), which, adorably enough, is known as the Creative City. Love. I discovered that it’s only about 20 minutes away from Santa Monica (helloooo beach!) and it is known to have a pretty cool night life. I’ve also been perusing Broke Girl’s Guide for fun things to do in the greater LA area, as well as their West Hollywood section.. more specifically, their post titled West 3rd Street Happy Hour Hop. Perfect, no?

I’m quite partial to mimosas. Luckily for me, Broke Girl’s Guide recommended  Taste on Melrose for $15* bottomless mimosas from 10:30-3:00 pm on Saturdays and Sundays. (*the price was raised since BGG wrote the article in 2011, bummer.) And they have prix fixe breakfast options? Sign me up. I can just see myself sitting under the awning, recovering from a well-earned hangover with Em and discussing our plans for the day over brunch and bottomless mimosas.

Taste-Exterior-11

Photo courtesy of Taste on Melrose.

I’m also quite excited that Em made us reservations at SUR Restaurant and Bar. The $5 sangria and sparkling wines for happy hour sound delish, not to mention the small plates that range from $5-7– sold! I’m loving that they have happy hour from 5:30 to 7:30 pm on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Sunday nights– weekend happy hours are the best. P.S., one of the owners is a Beverley Hills Housewife. Idk whether to be scared or excited.

Main Room

Photo courtesy of SUR Lounge

I don’t plan on doing too much outside of drinking, eating, shopping , and beaching while in WeHo. Perhaps some inadvertent celebrity run-ins will occur. If you any recommendations for any of the above activities, send them my way!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Southern Treats, Made Easy « In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: Friday Five | In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Southern Treats, Made Easy | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

