RSS Feed

January Foodie Pen Pals

I cannot believe the first month of 2013 is already over. It’s almost Valentine’s Day (read: I have to buy/make Valentine’s or cookies. Cookies it is!). I’m also two weeks away from visiting Em in Los Angeles! Guess what else? It’s Foodie Pen Pals reveal day!

Mellissa, over at A Fit and Spicy Life, was an absolute doll and sent me healthy treats for January’s Foodie Pen Pals. She hails from the Twin Cities and describes herself as a 30-something newlywed who loves food, working out, traveling, and (my personal fave) wine. Her package came at a perfect time, because around this time of year, everyone is all on healthy eating kicks. Let’s take a peak at what she sent me, shall we?

20130117-195806.jpg

20130117-200114.jpg

Seriously? Too stinking cute! Pink AND shoes. Love.

20130117-195849.jpg

Heaps of stuff!

Late July‘s organic multigrain snack chips in their Dude Ranch flavor. K, I’m a little mad she sent me these. They were absolutely delicious and I ate the entire bag in two days. By myself. At least I can feel good that these new chips are 100% Whole Grain, certified gluten-free, peanut/tree nut free, won Best New Product at the 2010 Natural Product’s Expo, aaaand give 10% of profits to the American Camp Association for summer camp scholarships for kids in need! All of that is much nicer sounding than the number of calories I consumed eating an entire bag of chips.

20130117-195912.jpg

I still haven’t actually made this easy quinoa by Nature’s Earthly Choice. I think it has something to do with the flavor– Sundried Tomato Florentine. I swear I’ll be adventurous (like when I ate tomatoes in my pasta with sausage) and try it, but I think I’m going to have to ease myself into it.

20130117-195941.jpg

This truebar is going to get a commentary sandwich. I really like the cutesy tagline on the front “I’m a hazelnut chocolate cherry bar with nothing to hide” because it’s honest and kinda sassy. The flavors and textures did nothing for me, except have me make weird faces (okay, so I’m like a 5 year old when I don’t like certain foods I try..) and pass it on to a friend after two bites. They’re made in America, so I’m all for trying a different flavor!

20130117-195953.jpg

Two of my absolute favorite things to pair together (after chocolate and peanut butter, duh) are chocolate and raspberries. You can imagine how thrilled I was to receive this adorably-wrapped Raspberries in Dark Chocolate bar made by Chocolove. Also! My chocolate bar comes with a love poem on the inside wrapper. How cute is that?! And how about that description on the back? Yowza that sounds amazing. I haven’t tried mine yet, you know, the whole trying to be healthy thing.. But I’m determined to try it Feburary 1st. I mean, 31-ish days of healthy-ish is good, right?

20130130-173055.jpg

My first experience with Justin’s Nut Butters was delish. It was the Classic Peanut butter that came in one of those Starbuck’s snack pack thingys sold in the open display case. It was so yummy! I was really excited to try the Chocolate Almond butter! It wasn’t as chocolatey as I thought it’d be– it was subtle– but it was tasty with a whole wheat Ritz snack pack! I’m also extremely interested in trying the Honey Peanut and Chocolate Hazelnut butters!

20130117-200044.jpg

I have yet to try the 100% organic Raw Cacao Bliss by Artisana, but I’m very intrigued by it. I think the next time snack-time calls, I’m going to swap out my normal Jiff To-Go cups and use this!

20130117-200057.jpg

This is probably the most different thing I received in my package: Sunwarrior Warrior Blend Raw Protein. You’re supposed to mix it in with any liquid (coconut water and “normal” water are among the recommended liquids). I’ve never tried anything like this, but I would imagine (yes, I haven’t mustered up the courage to actually try it yet..) it would be similar to Carnation Instant Breakfast? Someone please correct me if I’m totally mistaken. Or if you have any recommendations on what to mix it with? Help me.

20130117-195923.jpg

I was totally thrilled with Mellissa’s package! I am not typically a vegan-vegetarian-protein mix-kinda girl, but I was excited to try some of these new foods! Perhaps, once I try the few I haven’t yet, I’ll be more open to new things, too. You should check out Mellissa’s blog and follow her on Twitter. If you’re already following me on Twitter, help a sister out and follow my new Tumblr, too!

If you’re interested in becoming a part of Foodie Pen Pals, you can click here to read Lindsay’s rules posted on her blog The Lean Green Bean. But here’s a brief overview:

  • You must sign up for the program by the 4th of each month– if you don’t sign up each month, you won’t be included for that month.
  • On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It’s all on you to contact your penpal to get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
  • You will have until the 15th of the month to mail your goodies to your penpal. On the last day of the month, you will post about what you received from your penpal! Note: the person you send to is different from who you receive a package from!
  • The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe–use your imagination!

I’ve had a lot of fun both buying things to mail out (check out what I sent to Abby here) and receiving thoughtful packages in the mail. See what I got in September, October, and November! You can check out what other people got in January here!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

8 responses »

  1. So healthy! Good for your penpal. And it looks delish too. I sent mine sticky buns and candy. Whoops! I guess never go shopping when you’re low blood sugar…

    Reply
    • Julie, that sounds yummy! I was definitely appreciative of the healthier array of snacks to try. I always try to eat something before I go grocery shopping, so I don’t buy anything that looks good (aka all of the fatty, buttery, delicious stuff!).

      Reply
  2. The Sunwarrior is so good, I mix mine with soymilk and frozen fruit as a smoothie!

    Reply
  3. I’m a huge fan of Quinoa and healthy snack chips! Love the suggestions!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: March Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

  5. Pingback: April Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

  6. Pingback: May Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

