RSS Feed

Pasta with Sausage and Globe Tomatoes

Happy Wednesday! I love mini weeks. Partially because it means a shorter work week, but mostly because it means I can play more over the weekend.

Three very important things:

  • I don’t think I’ll ever stop going to 80s-themed parties. Yep, that happened this weekend. Also, food for thought: when do we get to start having 90s-themed parties? I really wanna rock my chola bangs, baby tees, and those hideous single strap, chunky wedges. And butterfly clips. And any of these things. Cue the “She could be a farmer in those clothes” references.
  • There weren’t any correct guesses as to my next big trip. I’m going to go ahead and call the romantic and the wino from The Lazy Travelers the winners because not only did they guess the correct coast (it was 50/50..), but their guess (NYC) is somewhere I plan on visiting asap! FYI the correct answer was Miami! BTW I need tips and tricks and things to avoid. Also, I’ll stop with the acronyms for now. Oh! Ladies, did you want baked goods?
  • After I was soliciting those aforementioned guesses, I booked a trip that actually comes before the Miami trip.. I’m going to the City of Angels in a few short weeks to visit the lovely Emily in WeHo (that’s short for West Hollywood, in case you were wondering) for an extended weekend! I couldn’t be more excited for a few days of fun in the sun and potential washed up/crazy/hot celebrity sightings. Anyone have fun ideas for us?

So, before we get started with this recipe, I have to admit something. There isn’t a cliché cute presentation photo because.. well, because I started digging in before I could take one. I’m sorry if you’re disappointed. I really couldn’t help it.

20130117-200232.jpg

I was totally obsessed with the Cook Yourself Thin cookbook when I first flipped through my darling friend Charise’s copy while in college. She and I made plenty of the recipes together before I bought my own copy. And then those lovely recipe ladies came out with a second installment of delicious, and some how miraculously not super fattening, recipes– Cook Yourself Thin Faster. Obvi I bought that one, too. The following is my adaptation of their Pasta with Sausage and Cherry Tomatoes from the Cook Yourself Thin Faster cookbook.

Ingredients

  • Olive oil cooking spray
  • 1 pack of Trader Joe’s Chicken Sausage (I chose Spicy Jalapeno) Note: the original version called for pork sausage that is removed from its casing and browned; TJ’s chicken sausage is not in a casing and it comes pre-cooked! So I chopped mine up and heated it through.
  • 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • Pinch of hot pepper flakes
  • 20 grape tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • Salt and pepper
  • 7 ounces whole wheat spaghetti, cooked al dente
  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil

Directions

  1. Spray a large non-stick skillet with olive oil cooking spray and place over medium-high heat. Add the sausage and stir occasionally for about 3 minutes, until the meat begins to brown.
  2. Once the meat begins to brown, add the garlic, pepper, flakes, tomatoes, and thyme. Cook until the sausage is warmed through and tomato skins have burst, about another 3 to 4 minutes. Note: since these tomatoes are larger than the originally called for cherry tomatoes, I had to coerce these tomatoes into bursting. Read: I smashed some with a spoon. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Place the cooked pasta in a warm serving bowl and toss with extra virgin olive oil. Top the pasta with the sausage and tomato mixture, stir to combine.

Serves 4

20130122-141029.jpg

I don’t even care for tomatoes, but they were delish!

20130117-200300.jpg

The world’s largest garlic cloves. I love garlic.

20130117-200913.jpg

This particular type of chicken sausage added a nice bit of spice from the jalapenos and depth from the red peppers.

20130117-200940.jpg

Some tomates (yes, tomates) had to be forced out of their skin.

20130117-200947.jpg

All mixed together. And sorry, no cutesy plated photo. Whoops.

I was quite skeptical of this recipe (tomato hater over here) and I’m pretty sure I only tried it out because it was so close to the New Year and resolutions of eating better and all that jazz. I am so glad I was adventurous! This was quick, easy, delish and filling. Per usual, I subbed a whole lot of stuff for the originally listed ingredients. Which should attest to how flexible this recipe really is, and that’s a good thing!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: January Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

