RSS Feed

Magic Cookie Bars

Most people have heard of Magic Cookie Bars. I’m pretty sure the recipe is one of like, three or four that are printed on Eagle Brand Sweetened Condensed Milk cans throughout the year. This past holiday season I’ve made at least five batches of MCBs for gifts, parties, and just to be a fatty, and I’ve concluded that I’ve perfected the recipe.

As I’m sure you’ve come to realize, I don’t like to play by the rules that are recipes. I tend to use recipes as general guidelines and then add or subtract ingredients and change up the directions as I see fit. This recipe, or rather, my take on this recipe is no different.

20121226-120159.jpg

Seriously, so good.

I suppose 5+ batches of one recipe in particular could be considered a bit excessive. However, you really have to consider how easy this recipe is, how few ingredients it requires, and how long I’ve had the ingredients and steps memorized in my head– so don’t judge me, it’s my go-to recipe for desserts. I’ll bet you’re curious as to how I perfected the recipe. Why would I make such a bold claim? I added sugar to the crust mixture. It helps to harden the crust which results in a crunchier foundation for the delicious and candy bar-like topping. You’re welcome.

20121221-182146.jpg

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 3 Tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 12 oz. bag semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/3 cup shredded, sweetened coconut
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. While the oven is preheating to 350, put butter in a 13×9 pan and place in the oven. Take out once completely melted.
  2. Spoon approximately 1/2 of graham cracker crumbs over butter in the pan. Spoon approximately 1/2 of sugar over the crumbs. Repeat with remaining crumbs and sugar. Lightly press down crumb mixture into pan with a spatula or spoon.
  3. Pour approximately 2/3 can of sweetened condensed milk over pressed crust, reserve remaining sweetened condensed milk. Spread to cover the entire crust.
  4. Use half of the chocolate chips to cover the top of sweetened condensed milk, sprinkle all coconut and chopped nuts over top, use remaining chocolate chips to sprinkle over the top. Drizzle remaining sweetened condensed milk over the top. Bake for approximately 20 minutes or until coconut is slightly toasted. Let cool for 30+ minutes. Cut into squares and serve.
20121221-182153.jpg

Butter, graham cracker, sugar. Repeat graham cracker and sugar.

20121221-182158.jpg

Press into the pan to get a fab crust.

20121221-182204.jpg

Drizzle me timbers. Most of it will spread out on its own, but feel free to use a spatula if you’re OCD like me.

20121221-182216.jpg

Toppings..

20121221-182229.jpg

And more toppings.

20121221-182234.jpg

I like to layer my toppings. Feel free to do it however you’d like, but it probably won’t taste as good. Probably.

20121221-182240.jpg

The last drizzle of sweetened condensed milk before going into the oven.

20121221-182245.jpg

Mmmm.. Look at the golden brown coconut.

I’ve had friends who either don’t like coconut or walnuts try this and love it, it’s that good. And so freaking easy to make. The nice thing during the holidays is that they ship very well. I sent a very late Christmas present to Mel all the way in Illinois and they held up perfectly. I’ve had requests for Heath bar bits to be added, so we’ll see how that goes. If you change the recipe up at all, let me know how it works out for you!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: DIY Personalized Mug.. Maybe « In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: Southern Treats, Made Easy « In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Your Guide to Holiday Eating | In Natalie's Shoes

  4. Pingback: Southern Treats, Made Easy | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

