RSS Feed

November Foodie Pen Pals

I cannot believe that Thanksgiving has already passed. Guys, this means we’re officially into the countdown for Christmas. Yikes! I shouldn’t be too worried, I have three Secret Santa parties to attend– so much easier to buy for one person than figuring out a gift for everyone at each of the parties!– and only buy presents for my family and a handful of individual friends. But I really do like to bake a lot, in lieu of providing gifts for family functions, co-workers, etc. I suppose the anxiety comes from the fact that there will be a lot of baking involved, and my kitchen isn’t incredibly large.

Rather than focusing on what is eating away at my brain, let’s focus on something fun! exciting! and delicious! Let’s focus on: November Foodie Pen Pals reveal day!

This month, Tina from Georgia sent me a package. Obviously I asked her to send me some Georgia peaches, but they aren’t in season right now. Hey, a girl can dream of baking pies and crisps with legit Georgia peaches!

20121128-082707.jpg

Seeing the word “Fragile” stamped all over the box made me extremely curious!

20121128-082714.jpg

A sweet note with a recipe from Tina!

20121128-091443.jpg

Well, look what we have here..

Johnny Harris Original Bar-B-Cue sauce sounds delicious! She told me that Johnny Harris is actually a restaurant in her area and that it’s the go-to place. Tina recommended roasting a Boston butt (heehee) to make sandwiches or using it when grilling chicken. Either way, it sounds tasty to me. I’m definitely going to have to try to make it down to Savannah to try this sauce in its hometown!

20121128-082743.jpg

As I mentioned above, I asked Tina for some peaches–knowing that even if they were in season (hi, it’s November..) the likeliness that I could get them mailed to me and still be able to use/eat them wouldn’t be very high. Instead, she mailed me some absolutely delectable Georgia Peach Cookies by Byrd’s (and a recipe that calls for peaches, which you’ll read below!). These cookies melt in your mouth and taste exactly like a fresh peach! They’re really great with tea. Tina wrote that Byrd’s makes a variety of flavors, so I may have to find out where I can snag some more of these!

20121128-082809.jpg

Next up were the World Famous Pralines from River Street Sweets, also in Savannah. I’m typically not a huge fan of pralines, but these were yummy! I’m glad she sent two, because I have a feeling they aren’t going to stick around for very long..

20121128-082816.jpg

I must admit, when I saw the can of Green Boiled Peanuts, I really didn’t know what to think. First of all, anything that’s green had better be a vegetable or curry. Second of all, boiled peanuts? I know, I know. It’s a southern thing. I’m still waiting to get up the nerve to try these bad boys. Obviously, I’ll report back– probably on my Twitter. Yes, that’s a shameless plug for you to follow me.

20121128-082801.jpg

Glazed pecans (because Tina’s from Georgia, you have to imagine reading this to sound like pee-cans!) are definitely something I can wrap my mind around! I love these in salads or by themselves.

20121128-082753.jpg

Tina’s Peach Salsa

Ingredients

  • 2 Tablespoons fresh cilantro (substitute herb of your choice), chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed and chopped
  • 2 peaches (or nectarines), cut into small pieces
  • 2 medium tomatoes, cut into small pieces
  • 3/4 cup fresh onions, diced
  • 1 teaspoon white balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

Directions

  1. Mix together all ingredients and serve over pork with a side of quinoa.

Wow, sounds super easy, right? And I love that Tina knew my strong distaste for cilantro, and even told me to substitute another herb 🙂 I think this would be delicious over salmon or barbecue chicken, too.

Everyone should check out Tina’s blog, One Foot Out the Door, and follow her on Twitter. She is seriously motivating and I feel extremely encouraged to get my butt back to running after reading her posts! I want to thank Tina for sending me genuinely thoughtful foods that are all new to me!

The Foodie Pen Pal I sent to for November, Erin, has a blog called Fight.Win.NowLive and will be posting up what I sent her. You can check out her Twitter here.

I feel like I’m finally getting the flow of participating in The Lean Green Bean‘s Foodie Pen Pals program. I still seriously love getting these packages every month– I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to quit! If you’re new to this whole program, or just to reading my experiences with it, be sure to check out what I got in September and October! If you want to sign up, be aware that Lindsay isn’t pairing people for December (hi, holidays?), and is requesting a donation in the amount that would normally be spent for Foodie Pen Pals be made to the victims of hurricane Sandy– super thoughtful! She’s going to have a link on her blog, so be sure to check that out. However, if you are interested in signing up for January, you must do so here by January 4th!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Yum! Pralines are a popular treat in the south.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: January Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: March Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

  4. Pingback: September Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

