RSS Feed

Memories of Prague: Favorite Restaurants

One of you lovely little followers, Bryonie Carolan from Those London Students, commented on one of my posts a while back. This particular post happened to be about my being nostalgic about studying abroad in Prague, and as it turns out, Ms. Bryonie is currently studying abroad in Prague! To pass along my four months worth of extensive knowledge about living in Prague and also to relive my time there, I decided to come up with a couple of lists of my favorite things/places in Prague. Food. Trips. Bars. Vistas. Ya dig? Today, we begin with my obvious favorite of all favorite things: food!

Pivovarsky Klub – Believe it or not, I actually lived above this place for 4 months. So I’ll be honest and say that I’m a little biased in recommending it to the world. However, the food actually is really, really good. Pivo actually means beer in Czech, so I’ll leave you to figure out what pivovarsky means and it’s also how we all lovingly referred to the pub/restaurant combo. They offer a minimum of 240 kinds of botted beer from around the world (Chico’s own Sierra Nevada included!) and they always have 6 beers on tap, all, with the exception of their fabulous number 5, are changed weekly. They serve “traditional homey Czech cuisine, “along with a variety of chicken, turkey, pork, and ostrich steaks. On Thanksgiving, they also do a traditional American-style meal. If you stop by, be sure to tell Lucas (the bartender who looks like Mr. Clean) and Lucy (the pretty blonde server/bartender) hi for me! I’m pretty sure Lucy will remember our raucous group, Lucas will absolutely remember me. I actually recommended/dared Lola and Leah visit Pivo and take a picture with Lucas during their stint in Prague with GowithOh!, and I won the dare contest! The Pivovarsky Klub is located in Prague 8, right around the corner from the Florenc stop on the Red Line. If you like it, you can visit the “mother” restaurant, Pivovarsky Dum, located near the I. P. Pavlova stop on the Red Line.

Svíčková and pivo #5 at Pivovarsky Klub.

Lucas let me pour my own pivo #5, silly man!

The Charleston is a great 1920’s-esque Italian restaurant located in Prague 8, accessible by either the Křižíkova or Florenc metro stops. The food is amazing (the tortellini was my favorite!) and it has a very intimate feel to it. There’s a “secret” bar and large group dining area downstairs that is hard to find, but well worth a look!

The Lemon Leaf  has great Thai food in Prague. Located in Prague 2 and very close to The Globe (see below), this was down the street from my parents’ loft which made it easy to visit often. Be warned: their concept of not very spicy is spicy!

Curry at The Lemon Leaf.

The Globe great place to study or pick up a book (the front is a bookstore), but they’re also open fairly late for food service. Their menu covers many nationalities: Thai, Italian, American, Czech, etc. all of the severs speak some, if not amazing English. It’s a great bar for expats! My favorite dish is their Thai curry (I know, you all are super shocked after I told you about how I love Thai and my favorite restaurant in Chicago). Check out their site or their Facebook page to learn about upcoming events, shows, and what art is being displayed in their shop!

Dobrá Čajovna is a tea room tucked away down an alleyway off of Wenceslas Square in Prague 1. Not only do they speak English, you can buy delicious loose leaf tea to go. I really recommend sitting down, having a pot of tea (they have a ton of tea listed in their tea book) and trying out their hummus plate. Best hummus and pita I’ve ever eaten!

A very hard to find alleyway leads to Dobrá Čajovna.

The hummus plate at Dobrá Čajovna.

I hope Bryonie likes some of these places, and if you happen to venture to Prague, you should check them out too!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Great, I’ve bookmarked this page for places to try out when I visit Prague! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Two Days in Prague: What to Do | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

