RSS Feed

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

First, I’d like to start off with a Giant congratulations to the San Francisco Giants (see what I did there?) for not only winning the NLDS to advance to the NLCS today, but also for being the first National League team to rally from down 0-2 in the Division Series to win it! To give you an image as to how excited I am that this happened, I was listening to the game online while at work, and when Romo threw the third strike, I was fist pumping and silent screaming at my desk. I probably looked crazy. Okay, I’ll stop boasting about my Giants.

A while back I made 1, 2, 3 Cookies and mentioned that I combined the traditional 1, 2, 3 Cookie recipe with that of my peanut butter kiss cookies. It’s been a while since I made PBKCs, so I decided to make them on Monday night. Now, I’m finally getting around to posting up that recipe!

20121008-102344.jpg

Cookies!

Like I said earlier, I made these yummy cookies on Monday. However, I had a major mishap with the first round of these cookies.

20121008-102310.jpg

One minute they were baking and almost done. They were the perfectly golden on the bottoms, still slightly puffy on the tops. And then the parchment paper slipped off the cookie sheet while I was pulling them out of the oven. Somehow, I managed to remain even-tempered enough that I was able to laugh in disbelief of what had just occurred. Then I snapped a picture. And then I used some picture stitch app to have a really nifty before and after image. I’m just so tech savvy.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar (I sometimes use 1/3 cup each white, brown and confectioner’s)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • approximately 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 bag Hershey’s Kisses (the number depends on how many cookies you make which is dependent on how large you roll the balls), unwrapped
  • Granulated sugar, for rolling (Optional– so optional that I never do it. It’s time-consuming.)

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 F.
  2. Mix the peanut butter, sugar(s), egg, and vanilla well. Add about a tablespoon of flour to the mixture in intervals until you reach the “right” consistency. You want the cookie dough to be slightly firm (to hold its round shape) but not so dry that it crumbles.
  3. Roll cookie dough into balls, about 1″ big. If you prefer bigger cookies, make the balls bigger. Once you know how many cookies you’ll have, set aside that number of Kisses to be unwrapped. If you’re rolling the dough in sugar, you’d do that right here. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet, or one that is lined with parchment paper.
  4. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until the bottoms are slightly golden brown.
  5. While the cookies are baking, unwrap all of your Kisses and place in a bowl.
  6. Once you pull the cookies out, place one Kiss in the center of each cookie. Wait until slight set (and cooled!) to begin devouring these treats!

Makes approximately 36 cookies.

20121008-102317.jpg

Heaps of peanut butter!

20121008-102323.jpg

Almost forgot to take a photo of the consistency of the dough!

20121008-102330.jpg

All rolled out. Like little ducks, all in rows.

20121008-102335.jpg

Finished!

I especially like making these around Halloween, because they sort of look like witch hats. This is a great project for kids, too! They can help you roll out the dough, unwrap the Kisses, and stick the Kisses in the cookies! Wow.. Maybe I should find some kids to “help” me make these (read: do all the work). I bet they would in exchange for cookies! You could probably add some chocolate powder to the dough to make the cookie part a bit darker, and then maybe use those Kisses that are swirled.. I think they’re called Hugs? Very easy to make and to substitute!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

