RSS Feed

September Foodie Pen Pals

The Lean Green Bean

Happy October! I know you all are dyyying to read about my experience with The Lean Green Bean’s Food Pen Pals program, aren’t you? Aren’t you just the sweetest for humoring me! Well, today’s the big reveal day!

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it here before, but Trader Joe’s is one of my favorite grocery stores to shop at. Everything about TJ’s makes me happy: the advertising, signage throughout the store, how each store is decorated to be homey to its patrons (the Napa store has vineyards in the murals, the Chico store has a mural featuring One Mile, etc.), the delicious food that begs me to take it home with me. Yes, Trader Joe’s is a fabulous store that usually entices me to spend more than I’d wanted each time I stop in.

So, when I opened my September Foodie Pen Pal box of goodies from Melorie in Delaware and discovered that everything was from Trader Joe’s, you can imagine excited I was! I was also really excited because she sent a cute Delaware postcard, too!

20120922-142704.jpg

Here’s a snapshot of my Foodie Pen Pals inventory:

20120922-142713.jpg

Dark Chocolate Covered Pretzel Slims are my absolute favorite thing to buy at TJ’s. I have to control myself though, because I can plow through a bag of these dipped in creamy peanut butter in one sitting. Yes, I know I’m a glutton.

20120922-142721.jpg

I was probably the most excited about receiving this Speculoos Cookie Butter. I’ve always seen it at Trader Joe’s, but have never purchased it. While I’m not a huge fan of gingerbread, this stuff was delicious! Especially with the Dark Chocolate Pretzel Slims.. But that’s not something I’ll admit to doing..

20120922-142728.jpg

Valrhona Le Lait 29% Cacao chocolate bar: hi, it’s chocolate, of course I loved it! It was extremely smooth and I may or may not have eaten the entire bar in one sitting. Whoops. But not really.

20120922-142734.jpg

Milk Chocolate Crisps: I’ve never had them before, but it’s a combination of potato chips and milk chocolate, yum!

20120922-142741.jpg

And finally, Organic Popcorn with Olive Oil. This popcorn is tied for first place of favorite pre-popped popcorn (Pirate’s Booty Aged White Cheddar Popcorn is the other..) to buy from the store.

20120922-142747.jpg

I was so excited to be a part of this program! As I’ve mentioned before, I love getting things in the mail (okay, maybe not bills or media subscription solicitations) and the Foodie Pen Pals program is even better because what you get is a total surprise! It’s so, so easy to join this program. In my post about joining the program, I briefly described the program. Turns out I was a bit confused as to how Lindsay matches people– the person you send to isn’t the person you receive a package from! You get your foodie box from someone else, making the whole process like one big chain of happy food present sending. Very, very cool. If you want to sign up for October, you must do so here by October 4th!

Unfortunately, Melorie doesn’t have a blog for me to link to. But if you’re reading this, Melorie, I LOVED the box you sent me. Thank you, thank you, thank you! If you all are wondering what I sent my September Foodie Pen Pal, Joy at Joy’s Plato Yums, visit her blog post about it here!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

14 responses »

  1. I want to try cookie butter so badly! I keep seeing it pop up all over the blog world and it looks delicious!

    Reply
    • Hi Natalie (great name, by the way!), I really like it. I’m not sure what it’s “supposed” to go on, but I’m having a blast trying it out on various treats!

      Reply
  2. That box looks amazing! What can be better than opening a box full of goodies?! I love it!!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks Caroline! It was a lot of fun picking out the food I sent to my FPP and even more fun receiving a box full of surprises from my other FPP. If you haven’t yet, you should sign up for October’s FPP via The Lean Green Bean. There’s a link above 🙂

      Reply
  3. Thanks again for the treats Natalie!! I loved it all!

    Reply
  4. Thanks so much for sharing this! I signed up to participate in October.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: October Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

  6. Pingback: November Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

  7. Pingback: January Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

  8. Pingback: April Foodie Pen Pals | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

