RSS Feed

Foodie Pen Pals

Guys, I just read about, and then immediately signed up for, the coolest thing. Quite possibly ever.

So, sometimes I get nosy.. When people like or comment on one of my posts, or start following my blog, I check out their site. I swear I’m not stalking! I just want to know a little bit about the person interested in what I have to say, and to see if we have any common interests (read: to see if I want to read their blog, too!). Sometimes I even start following their blog (as is the case with The Lazy Travelers— those girls seriously make my day). Occasionally, their blog leads me to other fabulous blogs! Well, yesterday exactly that happened. The ever lovely WordPress sent me a notification that vincentesf liked my Pot Pan Thai post. So, I snooped on his blog Vittle Monster. Among other drool-worthy food posts, he had a post up about something called Foodie Pen Pals. Being a girl who loved having pen pals growing up (and still has email pals from all over the world) I was instantly intrigued.  At the end of his post, there was a badge to click for more information. Obviously, I clicked it!

Turns out Lindsay from The Lean Green Bean started this really awesome program in September of 2011. She receives contact information from people who want to be involved in a food exchange and pairs up two individuals from within the US or Canada and for those in the UK, she directs them to Carol Anne from This Is Rock Salt. Everyone paired checks in with their partner for the month to verify food allergies, dietary needs, and preferences. Then they each go out and collect a sampling local foods, favorite foods, or whatever, as long as the total of the goodies purchased is within the $15 limit, and ships it to the person Lindsay paired them with. Lindsay requests that each box contain something written (a note, an explanation of the goodies inside, a recipe, etc.) and that if you are a blogger, or even just a willing reader, provide a guest post! One could potentially receive snacks from all over their country every month!

According to Lindsay’s site, new people (or people who have not participated in recent months) need to sign up before the 5th of every month in order to be partnered with someone from their country. Since I signed up on the 4th, I just made the cut and received my confirmation email from Lindsay. Obviously, I’ll keep you all up to date on my experience with this. I’m really excited as if you couldn’t tell!!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

10 responses »

  1. This is an awesome find! I just joined but think I missed this month’s cut-off. No matter. I’m excited to be a foody pen pal next month. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Hi Natalie! After I saw your note on the BBN, I decided to pay you a visit. Make that 23 followers, your blog is adorable!

    Reply
  3. I am so glad to hear that you are joining us! It’s a lot of fun.

    Reply
  4. best shout out ever! we stalk you back.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: September Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

