RSS Feed

Memories of Prague: I Arrived

It’s crazy for me to think that two years ago August 27th, I was boarding a plane to the Czech Republic. Two years ago this week, I met some of the most amazing people who I am still lucky enough to call close friends, despite being geographically distant, who came from all over the world to embark on a study abroad adventure beginning in Prague. I was able to travel all over Europe with them and once we were back in our respective homelands, all over America with them.

During my study abroad adventures in Prague, I was able to see gorgeous architecture. Buildings that weren’t destroyed by Hitler during World War 2 still stand. I was able to visit some seriously old buildings on my trip, as well as those of more modern construction.

A view of the Church of Our Lady Tyn from the Astrological Clock Tower in the Old Town Square.

Dancing House, in Prague 2.

I had to figure out how to convert dollars to Czech koruna. Since the conversion rate changes rapidly, this was not easy. But isn’t the money pretty?

We felt very rich with all of those zeroes on the end.

My  body had to adjust to a completely different diet than it had ever been used to eating. Stews and beer everyday caused me to gain over 10 lbs abroad. And yes, I was walking or metro-ing everywhere we went. I suppose it was that “I’m only here once” mentality I had during the trip. The food was amazing everywhere we ate!

Gulas (goulash) with knedliky (dumplings) and pureed garlic and spinach. So delish!

Beer was literally cheaper than water. I am not exaggerating.

I love going back through all of the pictures I took during my four months abroad. I get to relive the adventures I experienced and remember the awesome people I met along the way. I’m still in contact with some of the people I met who were not in our study abroad program, but were on their own, traveling the world. Now and then, I’ll share some of my stories from this epic semester abroad. Oktoberfest, Istanbul, a bone church, and more. Coming your way. Soon-ish.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Nice post! I’m spending my year abroad in Prague this September. 🙂

    Reply
    • Bryonie, you have no idea how jealous and excited I am for you! If you’d like, I can post up a list of my favorite things to do in Prague. I was planning on doing on at some point, anyway. Have so much fun!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Memories of Prague: Favorite Restaurants « In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Two Days in Prague: What to Do | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

