RSS Feed

Chicago Eats: Pot Pan Thai

It’s no secret that I love Thai food. A while back I wrote about how I fell in love with Thai food at a restaurant in Napa. And yes, to this day, the owner of Mini Mango Thai Bistro recognizes me and knows my order, down to substitutions. While in Chicago last month, my co-traveler Mel and I stumbled upon a great Thai restaurant. Out of all of the restaurants I tried in the Midwest, Pot Pan Thai was my absolute favorite.

After a day of thrifting and exploring the Wicker Park/Bucktown area, we walked by this cute little Thai restaurant and decided to try it out. We were both so glad we did! We perused the menu and decided to each order an appetizer. I ordered the Spring Roll (soft fresh thai spring roll filled with cucumber, tofu, bean sprouts, and scrambled egg; topped with plum sauce– YUM!) and Mel asked for an order of Egg Rolls (homemade fresh daily crispy egg roll stuffed with ground chicken, shrimp, glass noodle, black mushroom, cabbage, and carrot; served with a house special sweet and sour sauce).

When it came time to order our entrees, I decided to be adventurous and ordered the Pad See Eiw. Normally, I’m a curry or Pad Thai kinda girl. But the description had my mouth watering: stir-fried wide rice noodle with egg, broccoli and choice of meat, veg or shrimp in light sweet soy sauce– I chose tofu, and didn’t look back. Mel ordered the Green Curry, a Thai green curry paste in coconut milk with eggplant, green pea, bell pepper, hot pepper, and basil leaves; choice of meat, veg or shrimp– with tofu, as well.

20120829-103419.jpg

Pad See Eiw

20120829-103444.jpg

Green Curry

Pot Pan Thai has amazing (and ridiculously spicy) curries, great spring rolls and egg rolls, and a fabulous Pad See Eiw. As you can see from the lack of appetizer photos, we ate up the spring rolls and egg rolls before I could even think to photograph them. Take my word for it– they were delicious! I was really pleased with the service, too. The owner, also our server, was so sweet and informed us that we *must* go see Lake Michigan, and even gave us directions on how to do so. We packed up our leftovers and headed back to the hostel. We decided to wait until our other friend from our Prague trip, Amanda, was with us to venture to Lake Michigan. However, once we made the journey down Michigan Avenue, navigating a seriously fund-depleting gauntlet of clothing stores, we arrived at Lake Michigan and knew we had made two great decisions: trying out a fabulous little Thai restaurant in Chicago, and listening to the advice of its adorable owner in walking to Lake Michigan.

20120904-090330.jpg

Lake Michigan looks like an ocean; you can’t see the other side!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Foodie Pen Pals « In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: Memories of Prague: Favorite Restaurants « In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Thai Restaurant Away from Home | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

