RSS Feed

Wicker Park Food and Bar Favorites

Just in case you find yourself in the Wicker Park area of Chicago wondering where to eat or drink, I did some exploring for you. Totally for you. Never would I dream of going out to eat and drink solely for.. ah, who am I kidding. We all know I love food, beer, wine, and the occasional French 75 or Dirty Martini. Here are five of my favorite Wicker Park eateries that also focus on some drinkery.

Wicker Park Tavern for the full bar, to catch a game (of any sport), and for the drink specials. I’m sure the food is great, we just didn’t try happened to wind up here before or after we were hungry. We ended up coming here each of the three nights we went out, and we made friends with the awesome bouncer. His name is failing me, but be sure to tell him Natalie from California says hi, should you venture in.

Santullo’s is the place that turned me on to 312, a beer produced by Goose Island out of Chicago. So darn good! While we didn’t eat here either, the pizzas they were serving other patrons looked huge and amazing.

Swig is a hole in the wall bar with low lighting and good music. There is patio seating available, but it got kind of chilly at night. The bartender here is very nice and recommended the mac and cheese to me, which I ordered with a side of sweet potato fries. I know, I’m a fat kid at heart.

Flash Taco for tacos, burritos and more. Very limited seating, but it’s great if you’re fueling up before a night out, not that I would know.. They are cash only, with no ATM inside. Make sure to ask for your side of guac *with* your taco, otherwise you get cahrged an arm and a leg for a giant bowl! If you’re ordering tacos for a meal, get at least 3, they’re small, but delicious!

20120829-103722.jpg

Very tiny, but very delicious, tacos!

Silver Cloud Apparently this place serves as a fun bar at night. We only went in on our last afternoon morning for bloody marys and some awesome diner food. It’s located right next to Urban Holiday Lofts (you can read about this awesome hostel and what happened after we wandered back to our hostel here. Hint: celebrity sighting!). Order the chicken pot pie or the grilled cheese and tomato soup if you want something amazing!

20120829-103647.jpg

My tomato soup with grilled cheese and Amanda’s chicken pot pie in the background.

20120829-103659.jpg

This bloody mary may or may not have cured me. (It did.)

Pot Pan Thai My next post will feature pictures of the delicious Thai food, but for now, it’s a great Thai place with yummy food and great service. I was really glad Mel and I each got an appetizer and our own entrees. We got to try twice as much of the great food!

We didn’t go into Cans Bar & Canteen, a bar located just down the street from our hostel. But after seeing the cool display of old-style cans in their entryway, we may need to go back!

20120829-103755.jpg

Hamm’s? Bass? We’re in.

But, if you happen to find yourself in the Wrigleyville scene, head to Sluggers for dueling pianos. Beers are a bit expensive, but they have specials and the guys who do dueling pianos are hilarious. Rumor has it there’s an upstairs batting cage and arcade-like area. Unfortunately, we didn’t get to check that out.

If you have anything to add to this list, please let me know! I can’t wait to go back to Chicago and expand my list of favorites.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Oh how I miss Silver Cloud… it’s been too long. Need to get that one back in the rotation!

    Reply
    • I miss it already, too! One day I’ll be back. I need to try that chicken pot pie! Are the drink specials/night scene any good?

      Reply
      • That’s a great question… it’s probably been two years since I was there last. It was a Saturday night and we went for later dinner and I remember it being crowded, but I think it was a bit early for me to weigh in on the night scene. I do remember them having a great beer selection, though! … including this one called Sunshine which I’ve never since been able to find. 😦

      • That beer sounds festive! I fell for a beer called 312 by Goose Island Brewery. I don’t think I’ll be able to get it out in California 😦

  2. Pingback: Two Years of Adventuring | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

