RSS Feed

Tahoe Eats: Basecamp Pizza

I’m a huge fan of pizza. I consider it to be a hangover cure (or prevention tool). It’s a great happy hour food. Lovely for a movie or game night. And it has cheese. I’m a huge fan of cheese. I’m pretty sure I could become a vegan if I didn’t have to give up cheese to be successful in the lifestyle.

I’m also a huge fan of the Hunger Games. I’ll spare you the bad joke about being incredibly hungry after watching the intense movie starring Jennifer Lawrence while in Tahoe. But really, I was hungry after sitting in a movie theater for almost two and a half hours. On my way back to the hotel, we stopped by Base Camp Pizza located in Heavenly Village.

We had originally thought the host at the entrance was joking when he told us they had only been open for three days. Our server mentioned being new and we realized that out host wasn’t joking, they really were brand new! Considering this, everything looked very well put together. We ordered a couple pints (Sierra Nevada Pale Ale and Blue Moon, I know you were dyyyyying to know) and reviewed the menu. They offered very few “traditional” pizza offerings, many options were.. we’ll call them pizza nouveau. We decided to be adventurous and order the roasted veggie pizza and the apple and gorgonzola pizza.

20120618-144533.jpg

Roasted Veggie Pizza

20120618-144553.jpg

Apple Gorgonzola Pizza

Oh. Man. These were two incredibly delicious pizzas! The apple and gorgonzola pizza had roasted red onion, arugula, and some kind of nutty cheese. Everything blended together for a rich flavor I your mouth. I could have eaten the whole thing myself! As mentioned in another post, I have issues with certain foods, tomatoes among them, so it should come as no surprise that I was originally opposed to the roasted veggie pizza. I tried one bite and immediately put another slice on my plate! The roasted peppers and squash, along with the onions and tomatoes, created a light but flavorful medley. I was really glad I gave it a shot!

The vibe of Base Camp pizza is quite chill and great for catching a game (we watched the Giants game on one of many big screens while we were there), but not dumpy or dive-y at all! The service was great and it felt like we were among friends. I would eat at Base Camp again in a heartbeat! Maybe I’ll have to plan another trip to South Lake soon.. Unless they open a location in Napa (*hint hint*)?

One response »

  1. Pingback: Bite-Sized Polenta Pizza « In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

