RSS Feed

Tahoe Eats: Kalani’s

So it appears that I’m turning this into a birthday-related posts month. But I can be okay with that. Also, I’m pretty aware on how I have been posting food post after food post, without a whole lot of  travel posting, and nearly nonexistent craftiness posting. *Pinky promise* that will change after this weekend (my only non-busy weekend over the past month and for the foreseeable future) when I will be crafting up a surprise or two for my dear Aussie friend Melly. Since I still have three-ish days to post about my birthday month food, I’ll be taking advantage of it!

On our first day in Heavenly Village, we wandered around all of the shops and restaurants, trying to figure out where we wanted to go and what we could live without. Kalani’s had their menu posted outside and we took a peek. Yum! We agreed we’d go back for their happy hour, and what a delicious decision that was.

Granted, it was a Thursday at 4 pm, but the bar only had one couple taking advantage of a decently priced, drool-inducing menu. Take advantage of their menu we did! We ordered:

Pulehu Baby Back Pork Ribs Open-fired and basted with a Savory Sesame Garlic Soy

Teriyaki Chicken Satay Sesame seeds and scallions

Blackened Ahi Lettuce Wraps Nestled in Manoa lettuce, daikon radish, with “O” sauce

California Roll Crab meat, avocado, cucumber

Vegetable Roll Tomago, daikon sprouts, enoki mushrooms, takuan, gobo, cucumber, avocado (sans mushrooms, of course!)

Daily Special Deep fried ahi with special sauce

20120618-144848.jpg

Part 1

20120618-144857.jpg

Everyone’s first round of drinks were off of the happy hour menu. While everyone else chose to get a refill of their selected cocktail, I went a different route…

20120618-144905.jpg

French 75

I’ve been a fan of French 75s since I had my first experience with one at the San Francisco speakeasy Bourbon and Branch where I attended my friend Chelsea C.’s birthday party. Our bartender at Kalani’s had never made one before, so I recited off Bourbon and Branch’s version: a delicious mix of elderflower liquer (like St. Germain) and gin, with a float of sparkling wine and a lemon rind garnish. Our bartender made my drink perfectly! It tasted exactly like I remembered.

The food was fresh and quite tasty. My favorite was the fried ahi which had a crunchy outer layer with flaky ahi inside and a delicious sauce drizzled over the top. I was also a huge fan of the veggie roll, especially when dipped into the sauce from the fried ahi! I’m didn’t care much for the chicken satay or the ribs and I can’t eat California rolls, but everyone else loved them. The lettuce wraps were yummy, but quite spicy!

Next time I’m in the area, I’ll definitely go back to Kalani’s for their happy hour, but I’d also be interested in trying their dinner menu for a special occasion, as it’s a bit pricier.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

